It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JRMC 7356 (Rice): Advanced Health and Medical Journalism: Data and Reference Sources
Statistical reports and databases on demographics, housing, income, education, and other social characteristics; business, economics, trade; map resources.
Contains many statistical reports and databases on demographics, housing, income, education, and other social characteristics; business, economics, trade; map resources. Time coverage is mainly recent but also some historical. Geographic coverage varies with each data product from nation through states, counties, cities, metropolitan areas, census tracts and census blocks. Reference access includes "Subjects A to Z", a browsable subject index.
U.S. opinion polls on major issues, politics, and society
iPoll is a database of public opinion polls from the Roper Center archive taken in the United States on a variety of subjects. Each record in the database consists of one poll question and the participants' responses. Records are indexed by topic, publication date, and sponsor. Other information provided includes: source name, sample size, and notes on the sample population. From the results list users can also retrieve the complete list of questions asked in a specific poll.
Political and social data from countries in the Western Hemisphere
AmericasBarometer is a periodic study of countries in the Western Hemisphere. Supported by the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP), researchers in North, South and Central America and the Caribbean interview thousands of citizens on topics related to democratic values and citizenship. The survey data are made public and mined for insights into the nature and determinants of public opinion. Each database user needs to read the Usage Agreement and click I Agree at the end of the page. After that, access will be available to all the datasets.
Diagnostic and classification tool for mental disorders.
The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the American Psychiatric Association's major guide to classifying and diagnosing mental disorders. The online database includes the full text of the current Manual as well as online assessment measures, DSM-V Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-V Clinical Cases.
MRI (which contains GFK University Reporter) and Simmons (Insights) are our two biggest databases for market research data. So, what's the difference between Simmons and MRI? Which one should you use? Do you have to use both? A quick comparison of the two:
MRI has more current data (~1.5 years) than Simmons (3 years)
Simmons has "psychographics"; MRI does not.
MRI represents its data in tables, already compiled according to predetermined comparisons. Simmons requires you to build the table. Con: You have to build the table. Pro: You can compare any variable you want to any variable you want.
MRI offers certain pre-set filters for data (gender, age, etc.) Simmons allows you to filter data using any variable in their database.
Both can export data to Excel or .csv (comma separated values) files.
Data on buying behavior and media habits of U.S. adult consumers. Restricted: Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database.
Data on product buying behavior and media habits of a sample of U.S. adult consumers (approximately 27,000). The most recent sample is typically between 1 and 1.5 years old. MRI (GFK) requires users to register using a valid UGA email address and the current GFK registration code. For more information on registering go to http://www.libs.uga.edu/mri. 10 simultaneous users allowed
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior. Please note: This database is limited to 50 concurrent users.
Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of 33,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Offers the capability to crosstab demographic characteristics with types or brands of products.