Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYOS 1001: (Soper): Some Databases to Search

Databases for History

We have over 400 databases, which is a bragging point for us, but can be intimidating if you're not working here! How do you even find where to start?

To help you get started, follow these tips:

  • Libraries Homepage--www.libs.uga.edu
  • Scroll to the right to find Research by Subject  & click
  • The examples below are for History, but we have many other options. And you can always ask a librarian for help. That's why we come to work each day.
  • Find HISTORY and choose your area. To begin, select "History".  You'll get a list of databases to use, complete with direct links to each.
    • There is also an option for WWII materials
    • Click on the Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.- button to see what kind of access we have. If it's not in electronic format, we may own it in print.

Here is a great  source you should use for a history assignment. Historical Abstracts.  This database focuses on countries other than those in North America. To do research on North America, use America: History and Life.  Choose the "Advanced Search" option and enter your search terms.

  • Just as we did with books, the asterisk (*) at the end of a term will find variations of that word.
  • Keep terms you are willing to interchange in the same box & join them with or. , keeping the terms in the same box.You don't have to capitalize connectors. (and or or)

A really useful database for almost any search you would like to do is Academic Search Complete. What makes this one so useful? It covers nearly everything. No matter what your topic there is almost always (see how I worked that in, just in case.....) information on your topic. You can limit to scholarly materials (which is what you use a lot in college) and limit by date. You will set up your search just like the example below. That's true for nearly every database you'll use.

Ask for help if you need it! That's why we're here.....  If you've been searching for more than 30 minutes, ask us. It is best if you can contact us before you're crying and swearing....

 

 

Now What?

So, now you've found articles, what do you do next?

For some assignments, you may need to limit to "scholarly" materials or to specific dates. Scholarly materials are written by scholars for scholars. If you can buy the magazine in the grocery store, it's not scholarly. The limit option looks like this:

It is very tempting to limit to "full text". Don't! You'll miss out on a huge number of articles that you should probably see. Trust me.

If your article doesn't have full text ALREADY THERE, click on the blue button: Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.-  This will take you to what we own and show you where to find it.  We don't own everything, but we do have a lot.....

You can save what you want to keep by adding articles to a folder. Click on the folder icon to add  your article It will turn yellow once you've added the article to the folder: Access your folder by going to the top of the page

 

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family"  (America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts are part of  EBSCO) can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.