Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LLED 8045: Literature Reviews (Alvermann): Some Databases to Search

Some Suggested Databases

How to you even FIND the databases? Start with the Libraries' Homepage.

  • Go to the right to the tab Databases A-- Z
  • Select the letter the desired database begins with
  • Click the letter
  • Scroll to your database

Another method is to identify your databases by topic.

  • Begin with the Libraries'  Homepage
  • Go to the right to the tab Research by Subject
  • Click
  • Scroll through the subjects to find your area
  • Click and see both general areas as well as course guides

The blue button Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.-  in database search results will connect you to our electronic holdings of the JOURNAL where your article appears. If we don't electronically own the material you need, go to the GIL-FIND catalog to see if we have the item in print. Search for the journal title and not the article!

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families", i.e., EBSCOHost or ProQuest.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database. Search by title, limit by age/grade/Lexile Level for thousands of books. Libraries' holdings are linked. (Not a "family" member)

(EBSCO) e-Book Collection Search and browse for full-text children's titles and articles related to children's lit.

Explora for Elementary, Middle & High School. Full-text materials related to hundreds of topics, geared to particular grade levels. Includes Lexile Information.

JSTOR Access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals.

Literature Resource Center A complete literature reference database featuring biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.

MLA International Bibliography Scholarly materials on a huge variety of topics related to literature.

Project Muse Full text archive of articles on literature and criticism, history, art, and social sciences

 

Additional Resources

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases, 

consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families", i.e., EBSCOHost or ProQuest.

We have the 2008 edition of SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods available in GALILEO.

Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete, ProQuest Dissertations & ThesesWeb of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.

Web of Science. Find articles by author, topic or journal title in Web of Science. One of the best features of Web of Science is the display of the number of times a particular article has been cited, by whom and in what journal within this database.  This is an excellent way to discover seminal papers in your field. Search for authors by lastname first initial asterisk (ex. : bergmann c*) without any additional punctuation. Use the asterisk in place of the middle name. Web of Science is all scholarly materials but is not particularly strong in the social sciences, although that is getting better over time

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.