Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 1100 (Johnson): Briefing Book Resources

American Foreign Policy

Getting the Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want.  Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.

Background information

CRS Reports are documents written by the Congressional Research Service on a variety of policy topics.  The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites.  Different archival sources of CRS reports have popped up on the internet.

ProQuest Congressional indexes CRS reports, and several databases archive available documents.  Once you locate the title of a report, often a simple Google search will locate the full text.  

CRS Report Archives (free on the web):

Library of Congress:  archive of all new CRS reports.  

UNT CRS Report Archive:  digital CRS archive from the University of North Texas.

GAO Reports

The GAO is an independent organization within the US government.  GAO provides Congress, the heads of executive agencies, and the public with fact-based information about government spending in the form of reports and testimonies.  To access GAO information, you can search their database.

You can also browse key issues, and reports/testimonies by date and by agency.

Academic Research

Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies. Also includes journal articles. 

This is a curated collection of Homeland Security documents, so it doesn't have everything, but it does a decent job of putting together information from disparate sources into one place.

One benefit of this database is that it allows email alerts, which would be useful for long term research interests.

International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center contains a good mixture of scholarly articles, trade magazine articles, government reports, and country profiles.

Political Science Complete:  Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.

ProQuest Military Database:  Intelligence and defense literature.

Finding Books

Guide for finding and accessing ebooks:  https://guides.libs.uga.edu/COVID19/ebooks

 

undefined

 

All the world's information is organized by subject.  If you know how it is organized, it is easy to find books and articles about your crisis events.  Below is an example of how to search for books in the Libraries Catalog:

Choose "subject" from the drop down menu, and then type in the following formula <country> foreign relations <different country>

This will narrow your search to just books about relations between those two countries.

 

Expert Witnesses

When looking for expert witnesses to put into your briefing book, there are two good places to look.  

1) Congressional Hearings.  If someone is invited to testify before Congress about your topic, then that person is considered an expert.  You can search Congressional Hearings here in ProQuest Congressional.  Hearings are also a good source of background information about US Policy.

2) Scholarly Articles.  The academics who do research and write it up for publishing in scholarly journals are experts in their fields.  A quick Google search for their CV/Resume will help you fill out any biographical information for your briefing book.  Some good places to look for scholarly articles:

Make sure you check the Scholarly / Peer Reviewed Box to only get back research articles.

Something to remember:  Often hearings regarding intelligence matters are closed sessions due to the nature of the material presented.  In ProQuest Congressional if you see a title in brackets "[ ]" then that denotes no transcript is available to the public.  Sometimes there is no transcript because one has not been made available, or sometimes recent hearings do not have transcripts immediately available.  If you use the right hand menu, you can limit to only published hearings.

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website