Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:
If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:
If it does NOT have those links:
All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.
You can borrow book from all 32 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.
First, search the GIL Catalog and find the book you want. Make sure you choose University System of Georgia from the dropdown menu. Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.
Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on My Account at the top of the page to log in with your MyID and password.
After you log in, you will be able to click on the Request link. The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.
If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system. This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.
ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy. They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.
There are many sources of statistics on this topic. Here are a few places to start looking:
Europa World : Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.
ProQuest Statistical Insight : Coverage ranges across many topics including income, production, retail and wholesale trade, interest rates, economic indicators, demographics, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.
UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.
For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website. It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.
Global Terrorism Database from UMD: The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2016.
Top databases for academic research in International Affairs;
The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.
1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically. We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them. There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!
2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect! If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this. Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need. If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database for International Affairs.
3) It is easy to get mixed up on what is academic research and what is not. Make sure you check the "Scholarly Peer Reviewed" box.
Try these first:
Indexes and summarizes articles related to peace research. Try this one first!
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields.
This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
Military and government articles. Include's full text of Jane's.
Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
Provides access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized sources such as theses and reports from universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.