Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Senior Seminar-Crime, Punishment, and Human Rights (Soper-special collections): Primary Source Search Gateway

Searching for Primary Sources at UGA and Beyond

The Russell Library and the Hargrett Library each maintain databases for  their  collection finding aids (guides). These finding aids  outline what is in each collection down to the level of folder titles or in some cases to item level. To find materials related to your topic, you can keyword search these databases. 

See how this works...  

To get a feel for the process of keyword searching and browsing this database, enter "crime" into the search engine and browse the results. See the results for this search here: 

http://russelldoc.galib.uga.edu/russell/search?text=crime


Next, try some other terms that might be related to your topic (see the suggestions on the Assignment Description tab on this resource for options).  Also, check out the tabs below for accessing constituent correspondence where everyday people write their elected officials for assistance and to discuss matters of concern to them. 

What if you don't find what you want?  

  • Brainstorm other terms that describe your topic. 
  • Remember, to think historically--what words did people use at the time to describe or discuss your topic? 
  • Remember think like a file clerk--what are some simple organizational strategies that you might use to organize files--alphabetical by contact's last name, chronological by name, functional arrangement--by the division or team in an office--for example, the public relations office files. 
  • All of this brainstorming should give you some more terms to try. 


Still no luck?
Try searching in the UGA Libraries GIL Catalog or in Galileo.  There are a lot of primary sources located in the regular collections such as newspapers and other primary materials on microfilm, published diaries, annual reports, memoirs, government documents, and more.  Some are available in the stacks, some area available online through Galileo, and some are available on microfilm or microfiche in the basement of the main library. 

Suggested Galileo databases with primary sources:

 
Try searching in other archives using ArchiveGrid  to see what else is available in archives nearby. Remember, to look at the summary view tab. 

Try searching the following online sources for primary materials: 

Don't give up!
Set up a research appointment with Jill Severn, or visit during her office hours on Thursday afternoons in the research lobby, 3rd floor, Special Collections Building.

Search engines for UGA Special Collections Libraries

Russell Library Search

Hargrett Library Search

Brown Media Archives  Search 

Archives, Archives, Everywhere! Search Tools for Locating Primary Sources

ArchiveGrid is a search engines that helps users find information about historical materials in over 1,000a rchives, libraries, museums and historical societies around the United States.  if you are looking for primary sources  related to your project topic, this a great place to start your search.  (Remember, this site will provide information about the sources and where they are located, but may does not provide direct access to digitized versions of the materials)

Search ArchiveGrid
Find archival collections and primary source materials
.