Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 3300: Intro to Rhetorical Criticism: Historical Context

Books

Search the library catalog at gilfind.uga.edu for books, ebooks, or even films on your rhetor or their historical era.

Note: Books tend to have a wider focus than most journal articles. The index at the back is your friend.

History

America: History and Life

  • Find  scholarly journal articles in American history
  • CLIO Notes
    • outline of American history by era (i.e., "Postwar America)
    • look in the upper left corner of the database for the link

Biography

American National Biography 

  • Biographies of (dead) people important in American history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.

African American Biographical Database

  • Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations. Covers 1790-1950.  Search profiles to find people by gender.

Old News

Limit your search to articles published around the date of the speech to see the reporting about and reaction to speeches.

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. To search individual titles, click:   

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective Find articles from popular magazines,1890-1982. This database contains no full text. Use the find it button to find full text, which most likely in print at the library or possible on microfilm for this time period.

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online (1740-1900) (ProQuest) Full-text articles from over 1,100 American magazines published between 1741 and 1900. 

American Memory Project Digital library of the Library of Congress.Search for the name of your orator and see what comes up!

Newer News

Find out what recent press has to say.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Amber Prentiss
she/her
Contact:
Miller Learning Center 373
706-542-7674

Chat with a Librarian