Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.
This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.
Things to remember:
1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically. We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them. There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!
2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect! If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this. Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need. If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database, organized by subject to the right. There are over 500 different databases accessible through the Libraries Homepage.
Getting Full Text
Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:
If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:
- Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.
If it does NOT have those links:
- Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
- If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;
- If it links to the journal, you will need to browse to your article by clicking on the correct volume, issue, and page number (this information is available in your original results list);
All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.
Finding Specific Articles
If you're looking for a specific journal article, click on "Journals by Title," and type in the name of the Journal where it was published, or the ISSN of the journal. This will tell you which databases have the full text of the article you want.