United States - 1976-present
GIL-Find or classic GIL UGA Libraries' catalog
- Search for government documents by title, keywords, or subject. In GIL-Find use Advanced Search - a location filter is available on the search form. In Classic GIL start by clicking the Narrow My Search button in the lower right and selecting the desired government documents collection in the location filter.
United States - 1900-1976
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk)
- Many of the publications found in this index are available at UGA Libraries. You can try to find them by using the "SuDoc" number found by each entry, adding a "J84" in front of this number to form what would be our call number by which the federal documents are shelved. If you cannot locate a particular document ask for assistance.
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog, 1900-1971 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk)
- Entries point to the year & page/entry number in the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications which are shelved nearby. Here you will find a more detailed entry about the document and information that will lead to its location in our collection if we actually own it.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk). Includes annual and multi-year indexes.
- Many of the publications found in this catalog are available at UGA Libraries. You can try to find them by using the "SuDoc" number found in the catalog and adding a "J84" in front of it to form our call number if we have the document in the collection. If you cannot locate a particular document ask for assistance.
- Some documents listed in the Monthly Catalog are only available in the U.S. Non-Depository collection (microprint and microfiche). Ask for assistance.
United States - specific sets of documents
Proquest Congressional (GALILEO)
- Congressional hearings, prints, and committee reports & documents, 1789-present
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, 1916-
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (GALILEO)
- Congressional committee reports & documents, 1817-1994
- Foreign Relations of the United States "FRUS", 1860-
- Diplomatic correspondence of U.S. Department of State
- U.S. Presidential Library, 1789-
- Public Papers of the Presidents, 1931-
- U.S. Congressional Documents, 1789-
- Congressional Record: floor debate & speeches in Congress. You can also search the printed volumes with their annual indexes.
- U.S. Statutes at Large, 1789-
- Public Laws enacted by Congress.
- Federal Register, 1936-
- Federal regulations as well as many Executive Orders.
- U.S. Treaties, 1776-present
Independent databases and web sites...
Digital National Security Archive (GALILEO)
- declassified military and foreign policy documents, 1945-
National Security Archive (George Washington University)
- declassified government information, reports, etc., from the U.S. and other governments.
United Nations, 1944-present
Access UN (GALILEO)
- Documents of the main bodies of the UN. To determine availability of UN publications identified in Access UN visit the Maps and Government Information Library (subbasement) or contact John Prechtel.
Georgia state government
Georgia Government Publications (GALILEO)
- Full text of publications of Georgia state government agencies, 1994-present, plus selective pre-1994 coverage. To find older publications not included in this database visit the Maps and Government Information Library (subbasement).
- Useful for verifying documents of all types as well as identifying other libraries that hold documents.
GALILEO subject lists
Look in subject lists under "Govt Info".
Locations of print & microformat documents
Indexes: U.S., GA, UN, British documents - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, near service desk
U.S. print - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement. NOTE: Many print U.S. documents including most hearings are either at the Repository or in closed storage. Ask for assistance. Duplicate copies of many U.S. Hearings are also available on microfiche in the Map & Government Information Library.
U.S. print (science related agencies) - Science 4th floor
U.S. microformat collections (microfiche, microprint, microfilm) - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement
UN, British Parliament, Georgia print & microformat collections - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement (Many of these documents are in closed storage or at the Repository. Ask for assistance.)
Maps - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement
Map & Government Information Library (Main Library subbasement)
Reference Desk (Main Library and Science Library)
John Prechtel (general documents)