Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Wolf: Secondary sources

Databases for history journals

GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:

  • America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes the Georgia Historical Quarterly 1955-present and seven other Georgia historical journals (dates vary).
  • Historical Abstracts with Full Text  Articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

  • JSTOR : core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago

Other databases you may consider

GALILEO contains over 400 databases; you may want to consider using a subject-specific database like one of these:

America: History & Life  Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, on topics covering 1450-present. Includes coverage  of regional history journals like the Georgia Historical Quarterly. For world history see Historical Abstracts .

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) Articles on art, art history, architecture, landscape architecture and related fields.

Art Index Retrospective Index to articles from art journals published between 1929 and 1984.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (at EBSCOhost) Index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text (EBSCO) Articles and reviews of films and television programs

GenderWatch (ProQuest) Articles from scholarly and popular journals and other publications on gender in cultural, social, and historical context.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text  Articles on world history 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. See American Periodicals Series for 19th century magazines.

Music Periodicals Database Articles from popular magazines and academic journals.

Times Digital Archive Full text articles from the Times of London from 1785 to 2012.

Political Science Complete  International literature in political science.

PsycINFO The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology.

Religion & Philosophy Collection Articles on spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of world religions.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) Index and abstracts to articles in sociology.

Multisubject journal databases

GALILEO : collection of over 400 research databases, including:

  • Academic Search Complete : multi-subject database with articles from scholarly journals and news magazines
  • JSTOR : core journals in many fields from their first issue (dating to the 1700s in some cases) to 3-5 years ago
  • Readers' Guide Retrospective Index Index to popular magazines, like Time or Newsweek, 1890-1982.

Reference sources in history

These are just a few of the specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias you can use to start your research. Be sure to ask a librarian to help you find more information on your topic!

African American Biographical Database Biographical sketches with photographs and illustrations. Search profiles to find people by occupation.

American National Biography Biographies of people important in American history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index Index to many biographical dictionaries. Search index by name, and find dictionaries by title in GIL, the UGA Libraries' catalog.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Dictionary of American History Standard reference work for U. S. history, with over 4,000 articles.

Historical Statistics of the United States Historical statistical data for the United States.

New Georgia Encyclopedia Online encyclopedia of Georgia history.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Biographies of people important in British history. Search by name, occupation, or other criteria.

Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.

The People's Chronology Important events in world history, arranged by date.

WorldCat Books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.