Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Wolf: Primary Sources

Pre-20th century

Historical Newspapers Online Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. To search individual titles, click:   

Accessible Archives 18th and 19th century American newspapers in full text.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.  

American Memory Project Digital library of the Library of Congress.

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online (1740-1900) Full-text articles from over 1,100 American magazines published between 1741 and 1900. 

Athens Historic Newspapers Archive Athens, Georgia, historical newspapers, 1827-1922, at the Digital Library of Georgia.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 Full-text collection of American newspapers published from 1690 to 1876.

Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.

Periodicals Index Online Index to 18th-20th century periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.   

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 Index to popular magazines, 1890-1982. 

Adam Matthew Databases

Adam Matthew Explorer Access to all primary source collections from Adam Matthew Digital, spanning the 15th-21st centuries.

Suggested List of Databases:

J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America Database of documents from the J. Walter Thompson company archive, late 19th century through the 1990s

Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Tourism  Primary sources on British and American tourism, 1850-1980

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 Database of primary sources documenting changes in music, fashion, youth culture, and politics from 1950 to 1975

Trade Catalogues and the American Home Digitized American trade catalogs, 1850-1950

Victorian Popular Culture Primary sources on Victorian popular culture in Britain and America

World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions Primary sources on over 200 world's fairs, 1851-2015

State digital libraries

State Digital Resources: a list from the Library of Congress

Digital Library of Georgia

Look for more resources by googling "digital library" and a search term like a state name, person, or event.

Use GILFind, the UGA Libraries catalog, to search for a person of interest as an author, or look for works published during a particular time period.

Use Worldcat to look for archival collections.

20th century

Academic Search Complete  Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals, some in full text. Coverage dates vary by title, with more complete coverage in more recent years, ie 1990s-present, but some content goes back to 1895.

Archive.org Digital library of video, music, and text. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (1868-1984) 

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Ethnic NewsWatch Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1990s-present.

FBI Freedom of Information Act Vault includes digitized records of FBI investigations of many famous people and organizations

Films on Demand Over 7,000 educational films and newsreels online.

Georgia Government Publications Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.

GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications) The U.S. Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog of Publications is a database consisting of citations to documents published by the GPO since July 1976. The Catalog includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. The print edition counterpart to this database has been published by the government under various titles since 1895.

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary.

Internet Archive Large collection of video and audio. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

New York Times Historical Full Text (1851-2006) 

Newspaper Source Plus Articles from national and regional newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. Coverage may be selective, dated 1994-present

Patents at google.com Search through and find full texts of patents.

Periodicals Index Online Index to 18th-20th century periodicals in the humanities and social sciences (coverage dates 1770-1990).

Readers' Guide Retrospective Index  Index to popular magazines, like Time and Newsweek, 1890-1982

Times Digital Archive Full text of the Times of London, 1785-2011

Audio/moving images

Library of Congress Choose "Films, Videos" to search available online films

Brown Media Archives

Digital Library of Georgia: Media

Films on Demand (Films Media Group) GALILEO database of online films and newsreels.

Google Advanced Video Search

Internet Archive Of particular interest will be the News & Public Affairs section of the Moving Images archive and the same section in the Audio archive.

Peabody Awards Collection The collection provides a cultural cross-section of television from its infancy to the present day, featuring news, documentary, entertainment, educational, and children's programming.