Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4630: Population, Immigration, and Politics (White): Home

Country Background Information

Note: these databases are not indexed in the Multisearch!

Europa World : Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

ProQuest Statistical Insight : Coverage ranges across many topics including income, production, retail and wholesale trade, interest rates, economic indicators, demographics, energy, environmental protection, agriculture and fisheries, crime, medicine, and education.

UN Statistical Yearbook : Easy to navigate Yearbook of country statistics.

For more specific statistics (like education, finance), you can search the UNdata website.  It includes links to the online statistical abstracts of most nations.

Breaking News Consumer Handbook: Migration Edition

OTM: Migration

Global Migration

Abel, G. J., & Sander, N. (2014). Quantifying global international migration flows. Science, (6178), 1520. doi:10.1126/science.1248676

Quantifying Global Migration Article

Quantifying Global International Migration Flows

BY GUY J. ABEL, NIKOLA SANDER

SCIENCE28 MAR 2014 : 1520-1522

Estimates are provided for the international flow of people over 5-year periods between 1990 and 2010.

http://proxy-remote.galib.uga.edu/login?url=http://science.sciencemag.org/content/343/6178/1520

Your UGA Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website