Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDEC 7010: Trends & Issues in Early Childhood Development (Fields-Smith): Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases

Here is a list of SOME of the databases to which we have access and which might be of use to you. To access these databases through the Libraries' Homepage, use the Articles & Databases Tab and search "Databases by Name".

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the most comprehensive source for PreK-12 and young adult reading materials. A useful way to find children's books dealing with their mental health issues & questions.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the American Psychiatric Association's major guide to classifying and diagnosing mental disorders. The online database includes the full text of the current Manual as well as online assessment measures, DSM-V Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-V Clinical Cases.

Education Database (ProQuest). Gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education, from 1988 to the present.

PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.

Psychiatry Online is a collection of online information published by the American Psychiatric Association. It includes the DSM-5

Web of Science Citation indexes are unique in that they identify articles, books, or conference proceedings that have cited a particular author or publication. Citation searching allows researchers to search backward and forward in time and discover influences on current research as well as developments that built on earlier publications. Citation searching also allows researchers to measure influence by analyzing how often a publication has been cited by later researchers. Search for authors by last name first initial asterisk (ex. bergmann c*)

EBSCO Databases--When using EBSCO databases, you can search multiple databases simultaneously. To do this, click on the "Choose Databases" above the search screen when you're in an EBSCO database. Below are some which may be useful.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.

CINAHL  (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as some full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals.

Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text.

Education Research Complete. Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. The database contains several categories of content:

  • Citations to actual test documents that copyright holders authorize BMDS to make available
  • Bibliographic citations to journal articles which contain information about specific test instruments
  • A catalog of commercial test publishers and their available instruments

In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents tests used in medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy.

MEDLINE (with Full Text) combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals.

Mental Measurements Yearbook contains full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

Social Work Abstracts is a bibliographic citation database contains references on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and related topics.

The Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles.

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Violence & Abuse Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

 

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Carla Buss
Contact:
cbuss@uga.edu

706.542.2996

Curriculum Materials Library

207 Aderhold Hall
Website

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have access before submitting your request.