Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPED 8990--Research Seminar in Special Education (Vail): Suggested Databases

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects. In the list below, only Physical Education Index is NOT part of the EBSCO collection.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.

Database Suggestions

Some Full-text Databases

GALILEO provides lots of full-text articles but three databases in particular are completely full-text and may be of use in your research:

ScienceDirect. Content is provided by the Elsevier Publishing Company and its subsidiaries and provides full-text access to their journals since 1995.

SpringerLink. Provides full-text coverage of journals and books from the Springer Publishing Co. May also include titles from these publishers--Sense and Palgrave-McMillan.

Wiley Online Library. Full-text coverage of journals and books from Wiley Publishing.

For access to thousands of online journals try Browzine. This is not a searchable database, but instead lets you browse thousands of journals.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Carla Buss
Contact:
cbuss@uga.edu

706.542.2996

Curriculum Materials Library

207 Aderhold Hall
Website