Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Interior Design Journals
Print Access at the Art Library:
- Interior Design
- Surface Design
Blogs/Websites to know:
Launched in January 2003, InformeDesign is a reputable resource for evidence-based design content, resources, people, and tools
Multisearch - Interior Design
Search databases simultaneously, with Multisearch: 90+ databases with links to full text for thousands of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, images, and more plus citations to books and media in the UGA Libraries' - all under one search box.
Multisearch includes results from our local book catalog as well as citations from these databases, which may be searched separately or together:
- Art & Architecture Source combines content from Art Index/Art Index Retrospective and Art & Architecture Complete. This database covers over 630 full-text journals and more than 220 full-text books and includes over 63,000 images as well as art reproduction records.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, drawing upon 1000 journals, the Avery Index provides bibliographic citations on archeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.
- Business Source Complete - Covers business news, research, and company information and more.
- Environment Complete - Coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILE - Provides both academic and practical applications for those interested in learning more about environmental issues from Bioscience, Journal of Environmental Planning & Management, Journal of Ecology, and Conservation Biology (and other sources).
- Textile Technology Complete - Coverage of manufacturing techniques, textile end products, chemicals and dyes, the properties of natural and synthetic fibers and yarns, environmental issues, and the related areas of chemistry, etc.
- Urban Studies Abstracts - Covers essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, architecture and urban design, community development, urban history, land use, transportation and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
JSTOR & Project Muse
JSTOR and ProjectMuse - These databases are both multi-disciplinary, full-text, and scholarly. Search them by choosing which journal sets you want (i.e. Architecture plus Asian Studies) and entering your keywords.
Search Tips for JSTOR
- Use ~ at the end of a keyword to search for similar spellings
- Use * at the end of a root word to search for multiple endings (i.e. paint* = painter, painterly, painting)
- Use # to search for related words (i.e. goose# = goose, geese, gosling)
- Use ^3 between two keywords to alter the relevance ranking. If you type portrait^3photography the results at the top of the list will have ranked the keyword "portrait" as three times more important as "photography." You can use any number between two keywords.
- Define a close relationship between two keywords by using ~# between the concepts. For example, "gaugin primitivism" ~10 will limit results to those that have the two keywords within 10 words of each other.