Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPAN 6200: Cervantes y las visiones de imperio en el Mediterráneo (Wright): Searching Techniques & Tips (SPAN6200 - Wright)

Considers diverse visions of empire as found in both parts of Don Quijote, looking particularly at the intercultural relations between Catholic Monarchs of Spain and the rulers in the Ottoman Empire.

Search terms (Wright - SPAN6200)

Choosing the most effective terms for your search is the key to success. Remember that you are working in a multilingual environment, which will influence which terms you choose and how you combine them. (See the box below for more about constructing your search.) Once you have decided on a topic, start making a list of the words you think will best describe the subject. These are some of the categories you might want to consider:

  • the title of the work you are analyzing
  • the author of the work you are analyzing
  • variations of terms related to your topic - remember to consider the multiple languages you will encounter! There is not necessarily a direct correspondence between the words in English and in Spanish, yet you will find relevant materials in both of those languages, among others.

Expanding/Contracting Your Search (Wright - SPAN6200)

Now that you have a considered your topic and chosen some terms, it is time to choose and search in the appropriate database. See the "Library Resources" tab in this guide for suggestions. Keep in mind that some databases are indexing databases (they point to the source you need, often using the "UGA Access" button, for example, MLA Bibliography), while others are full-text databases (for example, JSTOR).

Generally, the indexing databases will connect you to a full-text source if it is available to UGA. Full-text databases may have time-sensitive obstacles such as access limitations. Some sources in JSTOR, for example, are not available as full-text for 1-5 years after publication. However, the indexing databases will still provide the citation, and the "UGA Access" button will often connect to a different database that provides online access. I highly recommend searching in the indexing databases before searching in strictly full-text databases.

Expanding searches, or how to get MORE:

  • Truncation using symbols (such as * or ?) will help you get more citations using one term.
    • Migrant* covers both the English and the Spanish terms. (You may have to do your search several times to cover the various terms you have identified.)
  • Be wary of putting in TOO MANY terms in one search - you may end up with zero results!

Contracting searches, or how to get LESS:

  • Adding terms to your search will generally give you fewer results. (I recommend starting with only one or two terms to see how big the universe is before adding another term, or other limitation such as dates, etc.)

For a visual representation of these concepts, see the "Boolean searching" section of Research Guide.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Shedenhelm
she/her/hers
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite