Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech Language Pathology Graduate Orientation: Dissertations

Resources and research assistance for SLP graduate students

Finding Dissertations

Using dissertations in research can help you determine the scope of what has been done and what niche you can fill. Click here to find the easiest ways to get this information.

Let the Libraries save you money when you're researching dissertations. DO NOT PAY FOR DISSERTATIONS (OR ANY OTHER LIBRARY MATERIAL) BEFORE YOU TALK TO INTERLIBRARY LOAN! The excellent folks in ILL will do their best to track down the dissertations you need and get the materials for you for free.

Dissertations in GIL

The UGA Libraries own all the dissertations done here. Since 1999 all dissertations are required to be in electronic format. You can search for dissertations in GIL by using the keyword search. Dissertations written in or since 1999 will be available in full-text. Start with the Books & More tab on the Libraries' Homepage

To search in GIL-FIND (Advanced Search)

  • for dissertations written in or since 1999, you also have the option of searching in the abstract, so you may use terms that are likely to be found there. Use quotation marks to keep words together as a phrase. Use the Anywhere option to do this type of search.

For dissertations written before 1999

  • dissertations will ONLY be in print
  • dissertation records DO NOT have an abstract.
  • your choice of search terms is limited by not having an abstract. Consider looking for the name of the major professor or the author. Department names may also be used, but keep in mind that departments change name over time. Contact your department for a history of names if you need older materials
  • Some materials may be stored at the Repository. Use the "Get It"  link in  GIL-FIND to have repository items retrieved. Repository materials may be delivered to the Curriculum Materials Library.

Dissertations in Electronic Theses & Dissertations

This is a GALILEO database and is ONLY for UGA theses & dissertations and only for those available in electronic format. Use the Precision Search and fill in the boxes using the guidelines provided above.

Using ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

DO NOT PAY FOR DISSERTATIONS UNTIL YOU HAVE TALKED WITH INTERLIBRARY LOAN. ILL CAN USUALLY BORROW THEM FOR FREE.
 ProQuest Dissertations & Theses covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. Approximately 47,000 new dissertations and 12,000 new theses are added to the database each year. It selectively covers masters theses, Canadian dissertations, British, and other international dissertations. Abstracts are included for dissertations beginning July 1980 and for masters theses beginning spring 1988. For dissertations done in 1997 and later, full text in PDF form of some titles is available.

  • You can search
    • by author (keep it simple: last name, first name unless it's a fairly common combination: John Smith)
    • by title (select Document Title-TI from the "in" drop-box)
    • by subject. Limit your search area to the "abstract" to keep from getting 50,000,000 hits.
    •  by university where the dissertation was completed. Use the "University/institution" option in the drop-box and then select the desired institution from the list.

Looking for "how to" books on dissertation writing? Here's one search that may help:

In GIL-FIND  Advanced search, search for

Any: dissertation OR "academic writing"  [next box down] AND any :"how to" OR write OR writing

  • AND or OR WITHIN THE SEARCH BOX  MUST BE CAPITALIZED
  • Keep terms you are willing to interchange in the same box and join them with OR (This is true for any database, not just here!)

You can re-sort the results by date or author or title.

With GIL-FIND you can easily send the results to your citation manager.