Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech Language Pathology Graduate Orientation: Suggested Databases

Resources and research assistance for SLP graduate students

Off to a Good Start

How to you even FIND the databases? Start with the Libraries' Homepage.

  • Go to the right to the tab Databases A-- Z
  • Select the letter the desired database begins with
  • Click the letter
  • Scroll to your database

Another method is to identify your databases by topic.

  • Begin with the Libraries'  Homepage
  • Go to the right to the tab Research by Subject
  • Click
  • Scroll through the subjects to find your area
  • Click and see both general areas as well as course guides

Selected Databases Which May Be of Use

Here is a list of SOME of the databases to which we have access and which might be of use to you. To access these databases through the Libraries' Homepage, use the Articles & Databases Tab and search "Databases by Name".

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

Education Database @ ProQuest Gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Coverage from 1988 to the present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing.

EBSCO Databases--When using EBSCO databases, you can search multiple databases simultaneously. To do this, click on the "Choose Databases" above the search screen when you're in an EBSCO database. Below are some which may be useful.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

CINAHL  (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as some full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals.

Communication & Mass Media Complete is an index to literature relating to communication and mass media studies, including some full text.

Education Research Complete. Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.

MEDLINE (with Full Text) combines the National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database with links to the complete text of articles from leading medical journals.

Social Work Abstracts is a bibliographic citation database contains references on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and related topics.

The Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles.

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

Web of Science only indexes scholarly materials, so you won't have to limit your results to get them. It's heavily tilted toward the "hard" sciences, but is getting increasing coverage for the social sciences as well. One of the cool features of this database is that you can sort your results by "number of times cited". This is great way to discover articles that are heavily used in your field. 

  • Search for author by last name [no comma] first initial [no period] asterisk.  Your search will look like this bergmann c* The asterisk finds variations etc of middle names.
  • As with other databases, use the asterisk to expand your search and
  • combine terms you are willing to interchange by keeping them in the same search box, joining them with OR--stutter* OR fluency
  • On the results page, look to the left and under "Document Types" you may find "Review". A review article is a giant lit review. If it doesn't appear at first, use the "more options" button to see if there are any. This is good way to get a good over view of the lit.

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have access before submitting your request.