Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

EPSY 6990e: Master's Seminar (Hines): Articles & Databases

Databases for Your Research

Need a hint about which databases to use? Here are some that are likely to be helpful. Many of these can be searched all at once. When you're in the search screen, look for "choose databases". Click on the link and you'll see a list of the databases we purchase from this company. Click the ones you're interested in and search them together.

Click on the "Find It @ UGA" button to see what access we have to the journal.

To get to the databases from the Libraries Homepage, click on the Databases A-Z  tab. You can select databases by subject or by title.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (aka Dissertation Abstracts) Search for dissertations on your topic from schools across the US as well as some foreign countries. Most dissertations found here are now offered in Full Text! (This is a big deal!)  If  you need a dissertation that is not full-text, CONTACT INTERLIBRARY LOAN TO SEE IF THEY CAN BORROW IT FOR FREE. Do not buy it from ProQuest unless you must.
  • For dissertations completed at UGA click here
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook Full-text information on commercially-available, standardized English-language tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
  • PsycINFO The major index for articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology. The American Psychological Association offers YouTube videos on how to use PsycINFO.

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & APA PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest).

We are also fortunate to have access to Education Database (ProQuest), and two education-orientened newspapers, Education Week  (daily) and The Chronicle of Higher Education. The most recent month of the Chronicle is not available online.

The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the American Psychiatric Association's major guide to classifying and diagnosing mental disorders. The online database includes the full text of the current Manual as well as online assessment measures, DSM-V Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-V Clinical Cases.

Films on Demand--Over 7,000 films for classroom use. They have a lot on psychiatry & psychology. We also subscribe to Kanopy
which provides access to feature films and more.

Psychiatry Online is a collection of online information published by the American Psychiatric Association. It includes the DSM-5

PTSDpubs (formerly titled PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) This link opens in a new window
 

Worldwide literature on mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.

There are other resources available in the listing of databases under "P". Explore these options are well:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses- Discover theses and dissertations from the US, the UK, Canada and a few other countries. The full-text is usually available and if it is not, DO NOT BUY A COPY! This is job for Interlibrary Loan.  This Library department will track down what you need and get it for you FOR FREE!

Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete,  Web of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.

Web of Science. Find articles by author, topic or journal title in Web of Science. One of the best features of Web of Science is the display of the number of times a particular article has been cited, by whom and in what journal. This is an excellent way to discover seminal papers in your field. Search for authors by lastname firstinitial asterisk (ex. : Bergmann C*) without any additional punctutation. Use the asterisk in place of the middle name. Web of Science is all scholarly materials but is not particularly strong in education, although that is getting better over time.

For topics relating to student athletes, consider the following: Medline, ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health, CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health), SPORTDiscus, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine, and OregonPDF. Also, please consider the Kinesiology options from the drop-down menu in the Articles & Databases>>by subject tab.

For research on transgender students, the medically-oriented databases listed above will also apply as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Social Services Abstracts  Family Studies Abstracts, LGBT Life, Sociological Abstracts and/or Sociological Collection, SocIndex,  and Women's Studies International

You'll find quality sources for student veterans in the Education & Psychology databases mentioned above as well as in PTSDpubs. (Mentioned above) This database focuses largely on the mental & physical health issues some veterans may have and is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs.

Looking for policy discussions? Consider  Political Science Complete,  Public Administration Abstracts, & Public Affairs Index. SREB is the Southern Regional Education Board database and may also have some policy recommendations.

Straight from the Publisher

SpringerLink, Wiley Online Library & Science Direct.  These databases provide full-text coverage of books, book chapters and journal articles from these publishing firms and their subsidiaries. Coverage varies by database, but it's a handy way to get full-text information

Search Tips

Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.

ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.

Create an account in the database you're using so you can save your searches, save your results, create alerts, and more. When you're in the "family" of EBSCO or ProQuest, once you create an account in that group, it's good for all of their databases.

Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.

  • Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
  • Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
  • Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
  • Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
  • Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
  • Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
  • If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan.  They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have access before submitting your request.