Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Willis: The Libraries

Get help

Click the red chat balloon on the Libraries home page to contact a reference librarian immediately; other contact information is also on the home page.

Library services

Access Services Contact Access Services with questions about your library account, fines, and book requests: phone (706) 542-3256 or email maincirc@uga.edu

Citation management software: Endnote and Refworks. Collect citations from GALILEO databases, add them to your papers, and automatically format your bibliography.

Floor maps and call number directory

‚ÄčInterlibrary Loan Request articles from journals not owned by UGA, or books not available at UGA or through GILExpress. Electronic deliveries of articles may take 3-5 business days; times for deliveries of books vary.

Research Conferences Meet with a librarian who specializes in your topic for an in-depth discussion of available resources.

Finding books

GILFind : what the Libraries own and where we keep it

Multisearch : Find books and articles with one search

WorldCat: Find books and manuscripts from libraries around the world

Citing sources

UGA Libraries Citation Style Guides : examples of commonly cited items like books and articles from many different citation styles

The Purdue Online Writing Lab: Research and Citation Sources : more in-depth discussions of APA, MLA, and Chicago styles

Refworks : export citations from GALILEO databases and add them to your papers using an add-in to MSWord; automatically format bibliographies More about Refworks; Request a training session in Refworks

Refworks

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic reference and citation manager. Use it to store and organize your references. There is no limit to the number of references you can store in RefWorks.

With RefWorks you can:

  • log in from anywhere to access your references
  • import references from GIL-Find and GALILEO databases
  • organize your references into folders
  • format your bibliography in MLA or many other citation styles

There is also a "Write n Cite" plug-in for Word, which you can download and use to insert references into your paper as you write it.

For more information about RefWorks, and to get started setting up your account, go to our RefWorks guide.