United States & State governments, all years
HathiTrust Digital Library
- Contains a large and growing number of government documents (Federal, State, and others) which have been digitized. Most can be searched and viewed in full text.
United States - 1976-present (a few pre-1976)
GIL-Find UGA Libraries' catalog
- Search for government documents by title, keywords, or subject. Gil-Find includes many links to born-digital documents on the web as well as retrospectively digitized documents in the HathiTrust Digital Library.
United States - 1900-1976 (Contact the Map and Government Information Library (MAGIL) about availability of these documents.)
Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents, 1789-1976 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk)
- Many of the publications found in this index are available at UGA Libraries. You can try to find them by using the "SuDoc" number found by each entry, adding a "J84" in front of this number to form what would be our call number by which the federal documents are shelved. If you cannot locate a particular document ask for assistance.
Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog, 1900-1971 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk)
- Entries point to the year & page/entry number in the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications which are shelved nearby. Here you will find a more detailed entry about the document and information that will lead to its location in our collection if we actually own it.
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976 (Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, shelves behind service desk). Includes annual and multi-year indexes.
- Many of the publications found in this catalog are available at UGA Libraries. You can try to find them by using the "SuDoc" number found in the catalog and adding a "J84" in front of it to form our call number if we have the document in the collection. If you cannot locate a particular document ask for assistance.
- Some documents listed in the Monthly Catalog are only available in the U.S. Non-Depository collection (microprint and microfiche). Ask for assistance.
United States - specific sets of documents
Proquest Congressional (GALILEO) partial full text
- Congressional hearings, full text 1824- ; committee prints, full text 1830- ; committee reports & documents, indexing 1789-
- Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, full text 1916- (many CRS reports are also freely available on the website, Every CRS Report)
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (GALILEO) full text
- Congressional committee reports & documents, 1817-1994
HeinOnline (GALILEO) full text
- Foreign Relations of the United States "FRUS", 1860-
- Diplomatic correspondence of U.S. Department of State
- U.S. Presidential Library, 1789-
- Public Papers of the Presidents, 1931-
- U.S. Congressional Documents, 1789-
- Congressional Record: floor debate & speeches in Congress. You can also search the printed volumes with their annual indexes.
- hearings, prints, committee reports, CRS reports,
- U.S. Statutes at Large, 1789-
- Public Laws enacted by Congress.
- Federal Register, 1936-
- Federal regulations as well as many Executive Orders.
- U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
- Nuclear Regulatory Commission, EPA, CIA, Commission on Civil Rights, National Transportation Safety Board, many others
- U.S. Treaties, 1776-present
Digital National Security Archive (GALILEO) full text
- declassified military and foreign policy documents, 1945-
National Security Archive (George Washington University) full text
- declassified government information, reports, etc., from the U.S. and other governments.
United Nations, 1944-present
Official Document System of the United Nations full text
- Includes all official records from 1993 to the present, as well as all resolutions, Security Council documents, and General Assembly Official records dating back to 1946.
United Nations iLibrary (GALILEO) full text
- United Nations books, journals and data on a broad range of social and economic topics, covering a large number of countries. Mainly more recent publications.
Georgia state government
Georgia Government Publications (GALILEO) full text
- Full text of publications of Georgia state government agencies, 1994-present, plus selective pre-1994 coverage. To find older publications not included in this database visit the Maps and Government Information Library (subbasement).
- Useful for verifying documents of all types as well as identifying other libraries that hold documents.
GALILEO subject lists
Listed under Government Information.
Locations of print & microformat documents (Contact the Map and Government Information Library (MAGIL) about availability of these documents.)
Indexes: U.S., GA, UN, British documents - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement, near service desk
U.S. print - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement. NOTE: Many print U.S. documents including most hearings are either at the Repository or in closed storage. Ask for assistance. Hearings 1824-2003 are available full text in Proquest Congressional. Duplicate copies of many U.S. Hearings are also available on microfiche in the Map & Government Information Library.
U.S. print (science related agencies) - Science 4th floor
U.S. microformat collections (microfiche, microprint, microfilm) - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement
UN, British Parliament, Georgia print & microformat collections - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement (Many of these documents are in closed storage or at the Repository. Ask for assistance.)
Maps - Map & Government Information Library, subbasement
Map & Government Information Library (Main Library subbasement)
Reference Desk (Main Library and Science Library)
Reference Department documents specialist: