Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Willis: Special Collections

Special Collection Libraries

Special Collections Libraries

The new Special Collections Libraries building on Hull Street houses the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, the Richard B. Russell Library for Political Research and Studies, and the Brown Media Archives and Peabody Collection. Materials in special collections libraries can be used by appointment. As soon as you know which special collections library you wish to use, contact the archivists to discuss your research.

UGA Libraries Special Collections are specialized archives holding original, rare, and irreplaceable materials. Many items in special collections are included in GIL, the UGA Libraries catalog. Materials can be requested by clicking request buttons on records of materials in a special collection in the UGA Libraries catalogs, GIL and GILFind, or in special collections finding aids. 

Hargrett Library

Russell Library

Media Archives

Digital Library of Georgia

The Digital Library of Georgia is a collection of collections of digitized photographs, documents, maps, and other materials. Collections can be searched individually or together. The Digital Library may contain materials from other special collections.