Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 4990 Willis: Primary sources

20th century primary sources

Academic Search Complete  Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals, some in full text. Coverage dates vary by title, with more complete coverage in more recent years, ie 1990s-present, but some content goes back to 1895.

ArchiveGrid Descriptions of archival collections worldwide.

Archive.org Digital library of video, music, and text. Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of web pages.

Atlanta Constitution Historical Full Text (1868-1989) (ProQuest) Full text of the Atlanta Constitution 1868-1989. For other indexing, see:

  • Main Ref MFC AI21 .A710 Atlanta Journal Card Index, 1944-1979
  • Main Ref AI21 .A7 Atlanta Constitution, 1971-1979 
  • Main Ref AI21 .A71 Atlanta Journal, Atlanta Constitution Index, 1983-present

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (Chadwyck-Healey, ProQuest) Full-text primary documents concerning U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.

Ethnic NewsWatch Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press, in full text from the 1960s-present.

FBI: The Vault Digitized records of FBI investigations of many famous people and organizations

Films on Demand (Films Media Group)  Over 7,000 educational films and newsreels online.

Georgia Government Publications Public documents of departments or agencies within the state government.

GPO Monthly Catalog (U.S. government publications) The U.S. Government Printing Office Monthly Catalog of Publications is a database consisting of citations to documents published by the GPO since July 1976. The Catalog includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more. The print edition counterpart to this database has been published by the government under various titles since 1895.

Historical Newspapers Online (ProQuest) Full text of historical American newspapers, including the Atlanta Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal. Dates of coverage vary.

New York Times Historical Full Text (1851-2006) (ProQuest) Full text of the New York Times, 1851-2006.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)  Articles from national and regional newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. Coverage may be selective, and dates vary by title.

Nexis Uni Formerly LexisNexis. Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Most articles are in full text. Coverage varies by title, with more complete coverage generally from the mid-1990s to the present.

Periodicals Index Online Index to 18th-20th century periodicals in the humanities and social sciences (coverage dates 1770-1990).

ProQuest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional) Coverage of U.S. Congress; hearings, prints, reports, bills, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations.

ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)  Statistics published by the U.S. government and other agencies.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)  Index to popular magazines, like Time and Newsweek, 1890-1982

Times Digital Archive The Times of London in full text from 1785-2012.

WorldCat: Find books and manuscripts from libraries around the world. 

Finding books

GILFind What the Libraries own and where we keep it. Can also be used to search other University System of Georgia libraries to make requests through GIL Express.

GIL Express Catalog of libraries across the University System; click "Request" at the top of the screen to have a book sent from another library

Multisearch Find books and articles with one search

WorldCat Find books and manuscripts from libraries around the world. 

State digital libraries

Look for more resources by googling "digital library" and a search term like a state name, person, or event.

Digital Library of Georgia

State Digital Resources From the Library of Congress