Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4710: Model United Nations Practicum: Home

Libraries Homepage

Researching Countries

Access UN : Index to the Official Records of the United Nations.  Look up statements by member countries, and publications by the UN here.

Europa World : Contains detailed information about countries and international organizations worldwide.  

Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Updated regularly!

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) : Contains extensive statistical data which can be downloaded into spreadsheets. The database is especially rich in annual economic surveys of member countries, industry reports, and statistical reports.

Stanford's Model UN Research Guide

GALILEO Password

The GALILEO password is required to acces UGA Libraries resources from off campus and on some wireless networks. Go to this link to get it.

  • Type in your barcode number (either all 16 digits or 810... works)
  • Enter last name and PIN, hit 'Logon' and you'll get the Galileo password for the semester.
  • If you've never set up a PIN with the Libraries, you'll have to get one emailed to you first. Click on "Get my PIN."

NOTE: Password will change every semester and if your library account is blocked due to overdue books and/or fines you will be unable to access the password.

Getting Full Text

Getting the full text of articles in GALILEO:

If the results has a link that says '.pdf full text' or '.html full text' under it:

  • Simply click on the link and you will have access to the article.

If it does NOT have those links:

  • Click on the FindIt@UGA button under the result;
  • If we have access to article in another database, a link either directly to the article or to the online version of the journal will be provided;
    • If it links to the journal, you will need to browse to your article by clicking on the correct volume, issue, and page number (this information is available in your original results list);

All GALILEO databases have the FindIt@UGA button to help you access the full text articles in the UGA Libraries.

International News Databases

Access World News : Regional, national, and international news coverage. **

African Newspapers (NewsBank) : African newspapers. **

Ethnic NewsWatch : Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.  

Latin American Newspapers (NewsBank) : Latin American Newspapers. **

LexisNexis Academic : Full text news, domestic and international.  

** Databases NOT searchable in the Multi Search.

Using the Multi Search

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search over 90 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 400 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting to many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Databases in International Affairs

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)  **

Covers international affairs research from 1991 to the present. Contains journal articles, conference proceedings, economic indicators, and policy reports.  Some non-scholarly material is mixed in, so be careful when selecting resources.

International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center 

This database includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.

** Databases NOT searchable in the Multi Search.

Area Studies Databases

To find scholarly research about your country, search the database that matches with your geograhic area:

Africa Bibliography (International African Institute)  **

Publications on African and African studies that focuses on the social and environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts, with some coverage of the health and natural sciences.  

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (ABSEES)

North American research on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union.  

Bibliography of Asian Studies  **

Index to social sciences and humanities research on the Far East, Southeast, and South Asia.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)  **

Index to articles on Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Index Islamicus

Index to journal articles, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim World, from 1906 to the present.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies

This database contains more than 630,000 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.

** Databases NOT searchable in the Multi Search.

Your Librarian

Elizabeth White's picture
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website

GIL Express and InterLibrary Loan

GIL EXPRESS

You can borrow book from all 35 University System of Georgia institutions through a service called GIL Express.  

First, search the GIL Universal Catalog and find the book you want.  Click on the link to the catalog record of the book.

Second, if another university has the book, and it is not checked out, click on the link "Please Log in to enable GIL Express Requests".

After you log in, you will be able to click on the Place Request link.  The book should arrive at the Library within four business days.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

If the book you need is not owned by UGA or another USG institution, you can then place an ILLiad request, and we will borrow it from outside of the public university system.  This takes longer, so be prepared to wait from two weeks to a month to get a book.

ILL will also get articles for you if we do not possess a print or electronic copy.  They normally can email you a pdf within one business day.