Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Census Records

Provides an overview of doing genealogy research at the UGA Libraries.

Census and Federal Government Resources

The Main Library has census schedules dating back to 1790. Schedules through 1920 are available for the southeastern states. Many of these are indexed. The indexes can be found by searching the online catalog by state (e.g. Georgia census). Many of these indexes are located in the microform area in the basement of the Main Library.

See the guide "Census Schedules at the UGA Libraries" for detailed information.

  • Researcher's Guide to United States Census Availability, 1790-1920 by Ann B. Hamilton. Location: Main Library 2nd floor CS48 .H36 1992. Provides tables indicating what materials are available for each county.
  • The American Census Handbook by Thomas Jay Kemp. Location: Main Library Reference CS49 .K4 2001. A directory of census information by state and county.
  • State Census Records by Ann S. Lainhart. Location: Main Library 2nd floor, CS68 .L356 1992.
  • The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research by James C. Neagles. Location: Main Library Reference E180 .N43 1990.
  • Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives by National Archives and Records Services. Location: Main Library Reference Z5313 .U5 U54 1982.

Websites

  • Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians: This site from The National Archives will help a person get started with their research and covers topics such as Census Records, Military Records, Immigration Records, Naturalization Records and Land Records.

Note: Most general handbooks and guides to genealogy listed in this bibliography will also provide information about census and federal government sources, their availabity and use.