Religion: Judaism
This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of religion.
Databases & E-resources
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
- RAMBI Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesA selective bibliography of articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Material mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library. Click on Rambi Web to access the search page. From there, the English language version can be selected from the top left hand corner.
- JSTORFull-text journal articles from selected sources (mostly American and in English), with good coverage for Religion and Ancient History, and excellent historical coverage (to the foundation of the journals); has a 5-year delay for most titles.
- Encyclopedia of Religion (2005) This link opens in a new windowElectronic version of the classic, 16-volume Encyclopedia of Religion, considered the standard, scholarly encyclopedia for the study of religion and religious beliefs worldwide.
Sacred Texts & Primary Sources
- Tanakh : The Traditional Hebrew Text and the New JPS TranslationIn print in the Main Library Reference Room
Call Number: Main Ref BS895 .J4 1999
Call Number Ranges:
BM 480 - 523.7: Sources of Jewish religion (Rabbinical literature, Talmud, Mishnah, Midrash)
BS 701 - 1830: The Bible - Old Testament (known as the Tanakh in Rabbinic Judaism)
Below is a small selction of online and print texts.
- The Talmud: The Steinsaltz EditionIn print in the Main Library Reference Room.
Call Number: Main Ref BM499.5 .E4 1989 - Texts of JudaismFrom the Internet Sacred Text Archive.
- Aleppo CodexProvides access to the Aleppo Codex as well as links to information about its transmission and history.
- Digital Dead Sea ScrollsThe Israel Museum's Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible.
- Ancient & Medieval Hebrew Manuscripts, Cambridge Digital LibraryIncludes the Taylor-Schechter Cairo Genizah Collection at Cambridge University Library, the world's largest and most important single collection of medieval Jewish manuscripts.
Websites
- ETANA / ABZU(Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives) Guide to digitized articles/texts and websites relating to the study of the ancient Near East.
- Association for Jewish StudiesFounded in 1969, the Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) is a learned society and professional organization that seeks to promote, maintain, and improve teaching and research in Jewish Studies at colleges, universities, and other institutions of higher learning
- Internet Jewish History SourcebookSubset of texts derived from three major online Sourcebooks, listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators: Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, Medieval Jewish Section, Internet Modern History Sourcebook.
- Jewish History Resource CenterContains more than 6000 links to websites dealing with Jewish History from Biblical times to present.
- AdherentsCompiles statistics from estimates, surveys, and religious bodies about adherents by geographic location and by group.
Books
GILFind (http://gilfind.uga.edu) - Search our local catalog for books, DVD's, etcetera. Use Library of Congress Subject Headings to help you discover books and expand your search, for example:
- Judaism
- Bible Old Testament
- Bible > Hebrew
- Jewish philosophy.
- Jewish law
- etcetera, etcetera
Reference Resources
Encyclopedia Judaica by Call Number: Main Ref DS102.8 .E496 2007ISBN: 9780028659282Premier reference work for Jewish religion and culture. This second edition, published in 2007, is filled with recent scholarship, and bibliographies are provided for further study. An excellent resource to consult in any topic related to Judaism or Israel.
The Encyclopedia of Judaism by Call Number: Main Ref BM50 .E63 1999ISBN: 0826411789With more than 100 lengthy essays, rovides complete and accurate coverage of Judaism--everything from its history, beliefs, and observances, from the beginning to modern times.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion by Call Number: Main Ref BM50 .O94ISBN: 9780199730049Provides coverage on major Jewish terms, thought, customs, laws, and practice. Although entries are not as comprehensive as the Encyclopaedia Judaica, it still provides a wealth of information and suggestions for further reading. A great resource to consult for quickly understanding a Jewish concept or for beginning research on a particular topic.
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture by Call Number: BM50 .C26 2011ISBN: 9780521825979Oriented to both beginning and expert researchers, this concise volume meets the needs of everyone interested in learning more about the Jewish experience from the ancient Near East to the present day.
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel by Call Number: Main Ref DS102.8 .L38 2004ISBN: 0810848481Provides definitions and short summaries of major terms, people, and places from ancient Israel. Information is drawn from both the Old Testament and recent archaeological data to provide information.
The Halakhah - An Encyclopaedia of the Law of Judaism by Call Number: BM520.4 .N48 2000ISBN: 9004116117Arranges the laws of Judaism in a systematic fashion and provides explanations, religious commentary, and excerpts from the Torah.
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its ReceptionCall Number: Main Ref BS440 .E539 2009ISBN: 9783110199048Comprehensive and in-depth rendering of the current state of knowledge on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. At the same time, EBR also documents the history of the Bible's reception in Judaism and Christianity as evident in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements. Projected to consist of thirty volumes to be published between 2009 and 2018.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Main Ref BS440 .A54 1992ISBN: 0385193513Up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.
The Hebrew English concordance to the Old Testament, with the New International versionCall Number: Main Ref BS1121 .K65 1998ISBN: 0310208394Publication Date: 1998
Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the BibleCall Number: BS425 .S8 2007 (6th Floor)ISBN: 9781598560664Publication Date: 2007
