Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newspapers at the UGA Libraries: Historical Newspapers

A guide to finding newspapers online and on microfilm at the UGA Libraries, including historical and international newspapers.

Historical Newspapers

The UGA Libraries offer access to many online databases that provide full-text articles from historical newspapers.

 

GEORGIA — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

Historical coverage of the following Georgia newspapers in downloadable PDF format is available through UGA Libraries database subscriptions:


Georgia Historic Newspapers 
This online archive is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia that provides free access to digitized versions of historical GA newspapers. Based at the University of Georgia Libraries, the DLG has partnered with universities, archives, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions to digitize historical newspapers from around the state. The archive is free and open for public use and includes over one million Georgia newspaper pages between 1786 and 1986.

America's Historical Newspapers
Offers searchable full-text and page images of thousands of U.S. newspapers from all 50 states, documenting American history, culture, and daily life between 1690 and the 20th Century. Includes 22 publications from Georgia covering the years 1763-1925. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, and much more.

The Red and Black
An online archive of UGA's student newspaper covering the years 1893-2010. Provided by the Georgia Historic Newspapers archive.

Flagpole Magazine Archive 
Flagpole, known as the "Colorbearer of Athens," is an independent, alternative weekly magazine that began publication in 1987 in Athens, GA. Flagpole covers news, politics, music, movies, arts and culture, food, community events, and more. This online archive provided by the Georgia Historic Newspapers archive covers the years 1987-2012.

 

UNITED STATES — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

Historical coverage of the following U.S newspapers is available through UGA Libraries database subscriptions:


America's Historical Newspapers 
Offers searchable full-text and page images of thousands of U.S. newspapers from all 50 states, documenting American history, culture, and daily life between 1690 and the 20th Century. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, and much more.

Accessible Archives 
Full text historical collections including African American newspapers, Civil War newspapers, and assorted other historical newspapers from 18th and 19th century America.

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspapers from 1777-1963. Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

 

AFRICAN AMERICAN HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

African-American Newspapers: the 19th Century
This enormous collection of African American Newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s as reflected in the African-American press. Starting with the Freedom's Journal in 1827 and continuing with The Colored American, The North Star, National Era, Provincial Freeman, The Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder and other sources, this full-text database makes available important original source material, written by African Americans for African Americans. Part of the Accessible Archives collection.

African American Newspapers Series 1 & 2, 1827-1998
Online access to more than 350 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes historically significant papers from more than 35 states, features many rare 19th-century titles providing a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture, and daily life. As part of Readex's America’s Historical Newspapers site, the African American Newspapers collection was created from the most extensive African-American newspaper archives in the world.

Black Life in America
Documents the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, from 1704 to today. From Black-owned newspapers to mainstream publications, this primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture, and daily life — as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. Black Life in America features content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications, providing comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day.

 

NATIVE AMERICAN HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

American Indian Newspapers 
Digital editions of 45 newspapers from the U.S. and Canada spanning 1828 to the present reveal how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. American Indian Newspapers presents a diverse collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada, including national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications, along with bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages.

 

GREAT BRITAIN — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

The Times Digital Archive
Provides access to the full run of one of the world’s best-known and most cited newspapers, with every page of every issue from 1785 to 2019. Read by both world leaders and the general public, The Times has offered readers in-depth, award-winning coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

British Library Newspapers 
A digital archive consisting of over 160 local and regional British newspapers sourced from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The collection delivers a wide range of local and regional voices to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries up through 1950, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press over a period of more than 200 years.

Burney Newspapers Collection 
The largest single digital collection of 17th and 18th century English news media from the collections of the British Library. Includes more than 1,200 newspapers, newsbooks, and news pamphlets from the period 1604-1804, with publications from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.

Nichols Newspapers Collection 
A digital collection of British news sources from the 17-18th centuries that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library at Oxford. Covering the period 1672-1737, the collection includes approximately 300 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals, along with 300 pamphlets and broadsheets that illustrate the transition from early newsbook publications to newspaper format. Distributed as stand-alone publications or in combination with a newspaper, these pamphlets cover a broad range of topics such as battles, religious plots, political intrigue, royal speeches, and petitions to the government.

 

AFRICA — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

African Newspapers
Online access to more than 60 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries with wide-ranging coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples. Spanning the years 1800-1924, the collection features English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

 

LATIN AMERICA — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

Latin American Newspapers 
Explore Latin American history and culture during the 19th and 20th centuries with online access to more than 50 Latin American newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. This online collection features titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and other countries. 

 

SECOND WORLD WAR — HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

Service Newspapers of World War Two 
A digital collection of over 300 service newspapers published during World War Two and its immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all the key theatres of conflict are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Polish, Hebrew, Afrikaans, Swahili, and African dialects. This digital resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment, and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas.

 

INDEXES FOR HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

We also have print volumes indexing historical newspapers, allowing you to look up a keyword or subject and determine on what specific dates articles were published relating to that subject. Armed with the date and page number, you can then find the call number for the microfilm of the newspaper (by looking in the UGA Unified Newspaper Database or GIL catalog) and go to the microfilm in the basement of the UGA Main Library to find the relevant article. 

Lists of these indexes are available under the tabs for GeorgiaNational, and International Newspapers in this guide.

 

 

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Eric Griffith
Contact:
ecg@uga.edu
Subjects: Criminal Justice

Newspapers on Microfilm

A large collection of newspapers on microfilm format is located in the basement of the UGA Main Library. Before digital storage became easy and cheap, microfilm was a format that libraries could use to maintain large collections of newspapers and other documents while saving physical storage space. Rolls of microfilm contain thousands of tiny images of the original documents. You need to use a microfilm reader to view newspapers on microfilm. A microfilm reader is a machine that allows you to view an image from microfilm at a normal size on a screen, and you can also print and save images of pages. Microfilm readers are available in the basement of the UGA Main Library.