Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Trade Statistics: Other Resources

Guidance in selecting sources of foreign trade data.

commodity-specific / print & microfiche / cd&dvd

 Sector-specific:

Office of Textiles and Apparel. United States International Trade Administration.

Provides several years of data summaries of United States imports and exports of various categories of apparel and textiles compiled from the detailed commodity databases of the U.S. government.

Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS). USDA Foreign Agricultural Service.

Provides annual and monthly exports and imports of an extensive list of agricultural commodity groupings between the U.S. and individual countries or regional/trade groups, 1967-.  Use the 'standard query'.  

 International historical and print:

International Historical Statistics:  1750-2000
 Includes selected "external trade" statistics for the period 1750-2000 for most reporting countries and main trading partners.  Specific commodities and tables vary by country and region of world.  Values are expressed in national currencies. Large coverage gaps may be present, especially for developing countries.
    HA 4675 .M552 2003 (Africa, Asia, & Oceania) - Main Reference
    HA 175 .M55 2003 (Americas) - Main Reference
    HA 1107 .M5 2003 (Europe) - Main Reference

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (UN)
Provides 180 reporting countries and selected trading partners for SITC 1-3 digit commodity level.
     Latest:  UN ST ESA STAT SER. G - Main Reference
     (1995-):  Map and Government Information Library
     (1980-1995):  HF 91 .U59 - Main Library, 5th floor

World Trade Annual
Provides 23 reporting countries and all trading partners for SITC 1-3 digit commodity level.
    1964-1995:  HF 53 .W6 - Repository

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics
Useful for the large number of regional trade groups covered.  Provides aggregated and derived trade measures as well as SITC 1-3 digit commodity data for selected reporting countries and trade groups.  No partners.

    2000-:  UN TD STAT HS - Map and Government Information Library
    1969-1996/97:  UN ST TD HITD - Map and Government Information Library

International Trade Statistics (GATT and WTO)
Provides annual summary of world trade for various countries, regions, and trade groups.  Includes share of total trade, rankings, sectors, and other aggregated measures.  Some tables include time series back as far as 1950. Values expressed in US dollars.
    2000-present: HF 1371 .I584 - Main Library, 5th floor
    1998-1999: HF 1371 .A56 - Main Library, 5th floor
    1986/1987-1995: HF10 .C7 - Main Library, 5th floor

 United States historical print and microfiche:

1791 - 1822
American State Papers: Commerce and Navigation, Vol.s XIV and XV. (Folio J84: 014 and 015, Map and Government Information Library)

1823 - 1849
Commerce and Navigation of the United States [Report of the Secretary of the Treasury] in various volumes of the Serial Set.  (The print edition of the Serial Set from these years is now housed in the Special Collections Library.  Recommended option: Search U.S. Congressional Serial Set (GALILEO) for full text.

1850 - 1946
Commerce and Navigation (starting 1890 entitled: Foreign Commerce and Navigation of the United States). (J84 C18.19, Map and Government Information Library)

1947, 1951 - 1963 (imports)
United States Imports of Merchandise for Consumption, Commodity by Country of Origin, FT 110. (J84 C3.164: FT110/YR. in Census Materials, Map and Government Information Library)

1964 - 1980 (imports)
U.S. Imports: General and Consumption Schedule A Commodity and Country, FT 135 (changed in 1974 to U.S. General Imports: Schedule A Commodity and Country). (J84 C3.164: FT-135/YR-MO. in Census Materials, Map and Government Information Library)

1964 - 1980 (exports)
United States Exports of Domestic and Foreign Merchandise Commodity by Country of Destination. also called:
    U.S. Exports Commodity by Country (1964-1966)
    U.S. Exports Schedule B Commodity and Country (1967-1977)
    U.S. Exports Schedule E Commodity by Country (1978-1980)
(J84 C3.164: 410/YR or YR-MO. in Census Materials, Map and Government Information Library)

1981 - 1988
U.S. General Imports: Schedule A Commodity and Country IN: ASI microfiche, Map and Government Information Library starting with ASI 82: 2422-2 for the Dec. 1981 issue, through ASI 89: 2422-2 for the Dec. 1988 issue.
U.S. Exports Schedule E Commodity by Country  IN: ASI microfiche, Map and Government Information Library starting with ASI 82: 2422-3 for the Dec. 1981 issue, through ASI 89: 2422-3 for the Dec. 1988 issue.

1989
U.S. Imports for Consumption and General Imports, TSUSA Commodity by Country, FT 247. (MFC J84 C3.164: 247/989, Map and Government Information Library). This is the last published report of detailed imports data using the pre-Harmonized System import commodity classification, TSUSA.  Imports data for 1989 is also available using the Harmonized System of commodity classification in Online databases.

Your Librarian

John Prechtel's picture
John Prechtel
Contact:
Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu
Website
Subjects:Law

Chat with a Librarian