Databases & Subject Guides: ENGL 1102: English Composition II (Reeves): Books and Articles

Main Library & McBay Science Library

Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library	7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk	7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab	7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office	8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk	9:00am – 10:00pm

View all Hours

All Library Hours

Searching for Materials

There are many ways to find resources through the UGA Libraries. For a traditional library experience, you can browse the library stacks and use your student OneCard to borrow items. You can borrow materials from libraries on campus and other libraries in the University System of Georgia.

To search the library catalog, visit: libs.uga.edu. Additionally, you can use tools like GIL Express, Interlibrary Loan, and Suggest a Purchase to locate items that aren't available through the UGA Libraries.

When searching for items, note the different dropdown options that are provided.

Multi-Search: Use this space to explore materials of different formats (articles, books, and more). This discovery layer will help you get started on your research journey.
Books & More: Use this space to find materials in the library catalog, like specific books, journals, or media.
Journals by Title: Use this option to locate entire journals, magazines, or newspapers for your research.
Google Scholar + UGA Access: Use this option to blend results from Google Scholar and UGA Libraries. This space will provide you with access to articles on Google Scholar that UGA already has access to, making the searching process simple and easy.

Use the GIL-Find Catalog to search and request books from the UGA Libraries. Note that you can request a book to be picked up at your preferred library location. See more details about the request process here.

Looking to get digital scans of a print article or book chapter? We can help with that! If we are able to get access to the requested materials, pages are typically scanned within 1-3 business days.

Learn more about this process here.

In some cases, you may wish to see a new item join our collection. This is when the suggest a purchase option becomes helpful. Your request will be evaluated by the Collection Development team, and they will notify you of their decision to purchase or not.

Suggest a Purchase

Can't find the right resource through UGA? Don't worry, there are other borrowing options!

STEP ONE: GIL Express

There might be another library in the University System of Georgia that has the item you need. We call this system GIL Express.

Search for your item here, making sure to select University System of Georgia in the dropdown on the right. Similarly to submitting a request for materials from UGA, you can still choose your preferred pickup location on campus. Most materials are ready within 4 business days. Learn more about this process here.

Still can't find the item? No worries!

STEP TWO: Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILL is your next option! You can submit a request for the ILL department to borrow a book or article from another library outside of our system. With an average delivery time of 8 days, this is an affordable option for receiving materials that aren't on our shelves. Visit our ILL FAQs for any questions.

Request an Item

Searching Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text
History and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

America: History & Life is the definitive bibliographic citation tool for the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes indexing for 1700 English language historical journals, including selected local history journals. Full-text coverage is provided for nearly 200 journals and over 90 books. The database also includes citations to dissertations and book reviews in American and Canadian history. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
JSTOR
Full text scholarly journals with back issues from the date of first publication. Also includes some e-books.

JSTOR provides electronic access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of selected, core journals. JSTOR also provides some ebooks. The goal of the project is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. The journals are organized into the Arts and Sciences Collections I & II, the General Sciences Collection, the Ecology and Botany Collection, the Business Collection, the Language and Literature Collection, the Mathematics and Statistics Collection, and the Music Collection.
Literary Reference Center
Literary criticism, author biographies, full-text articles, poems, and short stories.
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 300 literary journals; book reviews; 25,000 classic and contemporary poems; 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories; full text of over 7,500 classic novels; author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.
Reference sources include:
MLA International Bibliography
Index to articles and books on modern languages, literatures, film, theatre, folklore, and linguistics.

Included in Multi-Search. The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical to literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, film, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. Classical Greek and Latin literature are not covered. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.
Information about the periodicals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography can be found under Browse Periodicals. You can browse or search by title or browse multiple keyword(s) and choose 'relevancy ranked' to find periodicals containing those keywords. Then click on the periodical title in the results list to see information about the periodical. This information comes from the MLA Directory of Periodicals and is updated annually. Note: Detailed information may not be available for every title covered.
Project Muse
Full text archive of articles on literature and criticism, history, art, and social sciences.

Project Muse is a full-text journal database for over 100 journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Database provider: Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University.

ENGL 1102: English Composition II (Reeves)

Searching for Materials

Searching Databases

Searching Encyclopedias