The Peabody Awards Collection
The Peabody Awards Collection includes outstanding radio and television programs in all genres: children's programs, documentaries, news, educational programs, entertainment, and public service. There are over 60,000 programs described in the Peabody database. Over 3,000 programs are digitized and can be viewed streaming on the UGA campus. Older programs have analog user copies available in the UGA Libraries Media Department, located in the basement of the Main Library. Please note that Media Archives does not have copyright in these materials. These materials may be viewed but may not be duplicated or reused.
The WSB, WALB, WTOC and WRDW Newsfilm Collections
Newsfilm and News Video collections contain raw news footage as shot in the field as well as complete, ready-for-broadcast packages, often together on the same reel or tape. Raw news footage may be color or black and white; sound or silent; edited or entirely raw. UGA holds the collections of WSB (Atlanta), WALB (Albany), WTOC (Savannah), and WRDW (Augusta), covering the state of Georgia and the Southeast from 1949-1981. Media Archives has licensing rights to these collections and is able to provide clips for use in student projects.
Newsfilm was used in broadcast for television newscasts from 1948 until the 1970s. Local stations relied heavily on their cameramen to capture local news stories - there were no feeds between stations because the technology to do so was not yet in place. Cameramen would go out and capture the stories on 100-foot reels, return to the studio and process this reversal film stock (film stock that passed through the camera and was broadcast ready after a one-step development process). The film would then be viewed and edited, and put on a film chain (device that included one or more film projectors aligned to TV pick-up camera ) ready for the news broadcast.
If you are interested in searching only a specific newsfilm collection in BMA, use the Advanced Search option on the Search Collections page. Add your search terms to the top field(s) and specify which news collection to limit results to in the Collection field. You may also perform a simple search and then filter the results by collection using the "Filter By" menu that appears on the right of the search results page.
News Videotape: Stations began to switch from film to video in the late 1970's. UGA has WSB's News Video collection dating from 1977-2008 (see an archivist for assistance with materials dating from 1990-2008), as well as news video collections from WRDW, WTOC, and WJBF. Over 20,000 hours of raw news footage are preserved in these collection.
Other Brown Media Archives Collections (BMAC)
Highlights of our collections also include town films, including footage of Athens, Borman, Swainsboro, Cordele, and Fitzgeral, Georgia, home movie and amateur film collections, including footage from as early as 1917 in the Pebble Hill Plantation Film Collection as well as footage of rural Georgia in the Andrew Avery Home Movie Collection and footage of the B-52s in the Keith Bennett Home Movie Collection, interviews in collections such as the Arnold Michaelis Library of Living History, the Del Ward Collection, and the Nixon-Gannon Interviews, as well as footage of the University of Georgia in the UGA Public Affairs Film & Videotape Collection and the UGA Athletic Dept Football Films, and Georgia music and folklore in the Georgia Music Hall of Fame Collection and Georgia folklore collection. These collections can be searched and browsed at the link above, and if you're looking for something from a specific collection you can limit results using the Advanced Search option on the Search Collections page.
