GALILEO@UGA Subject Guides: FYOS 1001: Consumer and Money Skills for College Life (Fan): Home

Your Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library Research & Instruction Department

706 542 3472
prechtel@uga.edu

Subjects: Accounting, Agricultural & Applied Econ, Business, Company Information, Economics, Finance, Insurance, Law, Management, Management Info Systems, Marketing & Distribution, Real Estate

Request a PDF

Request a PDF

All UGA students, faculty, and staff can request digital scans of journal articles or book chapters from books or journals in the Main Library and the McBay Science Library. Requests typically take 1-3 business days. Requests placed on weekends or holidays will be processed on the next business day. See our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) below for more considerations.

Finding Books

Finding Books

some Galileo databases for further consumer research

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business-related articles from many peer-reviewed and other journals, reports, company profiles, and other sources.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Indexing and abstracts for the many important scholarly business journals as far back as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials.
Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.
Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research reports on U.S. and European consumer products.
Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Policy Map.
PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand thedemography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.
A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership This link opens in a new window
Free access to the Wall Street Journal for UGA students, faculty & staff
Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership provides current UGA affiliates with individual access to WSJ.com as well as WSJ apps, WSJ+, and subscriber-only podcasts and videos. Coverage includes the past four years up to today's content. Use this link to activate your account. **YOU MUST USE YOUR UGA EMAIL ADDRESS TO REGISTER FOR AN ACCOUNT.** After registration, users are able to access WSJ.com and the Wall Street Journal app directly.

Suggested Websites

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
AAFCS provides research-based knowledge about the topics of everyday life, including human development, personal and family finance, housing and interior design, food science, nutrition and wellness, textiles and apparel, and consumer issues.
American Council on Consumer Interests
ACCI works to enhance consumer and family economic well-being through research and education. They host a multidisciplinary conference on consumer and family economic issues, and publish a peer-reviewed journal focusing on these issues.
Association of Consumer Research
The ACR advances research in consumer affairs and promotes the discussion of research among and between academia, industry and government.
Association for Financial Counseling and Planning Education
AFCPE is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to educating, training, and certifying financial counselors and educators.
Financial Planning Association
FPA is a leadership and advocacy organization connecting those who provide, support and benefit from professional financial planning.
Marketing Research Association
MRA is dedicated solely to promoting, unifying and advancing the insight, opinion and marketing research profession.
National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences
The National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (NEAFCS) educates and recognizes Extension professionals who impact the quality of life for individuals, families and communities.

Chat with a Librarian

Search Strategy Builder

The University of Arizona Library's Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and past the results into most databases' search boxes.

Business Magazines & Journals at the UGA Libraries

AdWeek (2004-)

Barron's (1988-)

Bloomberg BusinessWeek (print edition Businessweek, Dec.1996-)

BusinessWeek Online (2001-)

Consumer Reports (1991- )

The Economist (1992-)

Entrepreneur (2003-)

Fast Company (2000- )

Forbes Magazine (1990-)

Fortune Magazine (1992-)

Harvard Business Review (1922-)

Inc. (1990-)

Investors Business Daily (2008-)

Kiplinger's Personal Finance (2000- )

Technology Review (MIT) (1987- )

Wired (2008-)

WWD (Women’s Wear Daily) (2004- )

About the UGA Libraries

The UGA Libraries include the Main Library on North Campus, the Science Library on South Campus, the Miller Learning Center in central campus, and the Russell Special Collections Building near North Campus as well as smaller libraries in the College of Education, School of Music, and College of Veterinary Medicine.

See the UGA Libraries website for hours.

If you're looking for quiet study space: The upper floors of both the Main Library and the Science Library are good spots for quiet study, particularly the 3rd floor Reading Room in Main and the 4th floor silent Think Tank in Science. The top floor of the Miller Learning Center is set aside for quiet study.

If you're looking for group study space: Half of the Main Library's 4th floor is dedicated to group study, with whiteboard on most of the walls and moveable tables and chairs. The Miller Learning Center has 90 group study rooms that are available first-come, first-served.