Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INTL 4450: Global Security Policy: Home

Global Security Policy

Finding Books

We have a specific database of just books and physical materials in our collection (including ebooks).  If you ever have difficulty narrowing down a topic, try finding a book on the subject.  You'd don't need to read the whole thing, but skimming the table of contents, chapter names, and bibliographies will give you more information about specific smaller topics.

Multi-disciplinary databases

The Multi-Search is a resource which allows you to search 130 of our databases and our Libraries print catalog at the same time.  

ProQuest Central is a resource which allows you to search 30 databases which are not indexed in the Multi-Search.

This means you can search broadly for your topic amongst databases which contain newspapers, magazines, and scholarly articles and books.  

Things to remember:

1) The Multi Search doesn't search everything the Libraries has access to electronically.  We have over 500 databases and this resource searches only a quarter of them.  There are several excellent databases that aren't in the Multi Search!  

ProQuest Central allows you to search a portion of the databases NOT in the Multi-Search (30 in total).  If you aren't finding what you want in the Multi-Search, try ProQuest Central.

2) Beware of the fire hydrant effect!  If you've ever done a broad search in Google you've experienced this.  Hundreds of thousands of results, only a few actually what you need.  If you're getting too many articles and books in your results, try going to a specific database listed below.

Best Bets

Your UGA Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth White
Contact:
Miller Learning Center,
Room 373
706-542-0516
Website