Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYOS 1001: Public Relations, Community Engagement, and Service-Learning (Meng): Home

Dr. Juan Meng, Fall 2022

Multi-Search

Search over 130 GALILEO databases plus the GIL Find Libraries Catalog to find full-text articles, books and more.

 

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website

Library Resources for Talking Dog

Galileo Databases

D & B Hoover's: Extensive profiles on major public and private companies worldwide.

Factiva:  The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials.

Warning: Use of the Factiva service is restricted to reader access of the content for research and education purposes only. Text mining and analytics of the content is not permitted.

IBISWorld: U.S. Industry Reports contains in-depth surveys over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports are usually 30-50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.

PolicyMap: Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more.

Polling the Nations: U.S. and international opinion polls on major issues, politics, and society.

Reference USA: Directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private.

Social Explorer: Provides easy access to United States demographic information from 1790 to the present.

Statista: A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.

Wall Street Journal Higher Education Membership: Free access to the Wall Street Journal for UGA students, faculty & staff

Other Resources

Chambers of Commerce websites

  • May contain demographic and economic statistical data for your area
  • May include a list of local chamber members.  Members usually know their community's business climate quite well.
  • Search Google or other search engine for the pertinent chamber of commerce.  For example: “chamber of commerce” athens georgia

About the UGA Libraries

The UGA Libraries include the Main Library on North Campus, the Science Library on South Campus, the Miller Learning Center in central campus, and the Russell Special Collections Building near North Campus as well as smaller libraries in the College of Education, School of Music, and College of Veterinary Medicine.

See the UGA Libraries website for hours.

If you're looking for quiet study space: The upper floors of both the Main Library and the Science Library are good spots for quiet study, particularly the 3rd floor Reading Room in Main and the 4th floor silent Think Tank in Science. The top floor of the Miller Learning Center is set aside for quiet study.

If you're looking for group study space: Half of the Main Library's 4th floor is dedicated to group study, with whiteboard on most of the walls and moveable tables and chairs. The Miller Learning Center has 90 group study rooms that are available first-come, first-served.

Chat with a Librarian

Search Strategy Builder

The University of Arizona Library's Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and past the results into most databases' search boxes.

Digital Humanities Lab

Location: 300 Main Library

Hours: 8-5:30 Monday-Friday, unless the space is reserved for a class.

The Willson Center Digital Humanities Lab, founded with support from the UGA Libraries and the Willson Center for Humanities & Arts, is a space designed for collaboration and innovation in the Digital Humanities. Our flexible instruction space is outfitted with moveable furniture and soft seating in addition to our two large displays and 20 computers (10 desktops and 10 laptops). Each computer is equipped with Digital Humanities specific software including Gephi, Mallet, and the Adobe Creative Suite. See Software page for a full list.

In addition to instruction we also offer consultation on digital project development, grant writing, and data management. The Lab is also the central hub for the DIGI undergraduate certificate in Digital Humanities.