Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SPAN 2550 (Garza) - Recommended Databases, Portals, and Websites
Latin American Studies Subject Guide. This guide will give you good basic sources for doing research on topics related to countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Hispanics and Latin Americans residing in the United States. Among the most useful for this class are:
- MLA International Bibliography (literature and languages from around the world) - Indexing database of secondary sources (Multi-Search)
- To search by the title of a work, see "Browse Works" in the red banner at the top of the screen.
- To search title author of a work, see "Browse Authors" in the red banner at the top of the screen.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) - Indexing database of secondary sources focusing on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States. (Not in Multi-Search)
- Latin America & Iberia Database - Full-text database of secondary sources (Not in Multi-Search)
General databases that may include relevant information are available through most subject guides:
- Academic Search Complete - Indexing database of primary and secondary sources (Multi-Search)
- JSTOR - Full-text database of secondary sources (Multi-Search)
- Project Muse - Full-text database of secondary sources (Not in Multi-Search)
UGA Libraries Homepage
The UGA Libraries' homepage is your connection to most of the resources you will use in your research. From here you can search GIL-Find (the UGA Library catalog), GIL Express (also know as "GIL-Find Universal Catalog" - the University System of Georgia Library catalogs), the GALILEO databases (Georgia's statewide virtual library), and other information resources.You can start an InterLibrary Loan request, get quick online help through "Chat with a Librarian", and lots more. Beware that some of these services are NOT on the front of the page! Use the roll-over functions along the top of the page.
Multi-Search - This is the central box located in the middle at the top of the homepage. It is a program that can help you search both GIL and several databases at the same time, giving you lots of sources with just one search.
§ CAUTION: Multi-Search might also lead you astray! Multi-Search does not search in all databases that are available to you - especially for Latin American and Iberian topics. The information most helpful you to might be elsewhere in GALILEO (Georgia's statewide virtual library) - see above for recommended databases.
Books & More -This searches in just the GIL catalog, without the distraction of links to articles in databases.
§ Experiment: Try searching "motorcycle diaries" in both Multi-Search and Books & More to compare the results.
Journals by Title - This searches both electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers the Libraries own and to which we have access. To make sure you find the all the journals, etc. in your field that UGA owns, look in GIL-Find to locate print titles.
- We subscribe to journals in print: we get a paper copy of the journal. The most recent issues will be shelved alphabetically in current periodicals areas in each library; the bound volumes will be shelved by call numbers in the stacks. § CAUTION: they may be shelved off campus at the Repository - make sure you check the Locations.
- We subscribe to journals in electronic form: sometimes this means that we have no paper copies. Many of these do not appear in GIL-Find, but you still have access to the contents.
- There are also microform versions of newspapers and journals. Check GIL-Find for these.
Google Scholar - This is a good way to find scholarly information on the web without the distraction of entertainment pieces, sales pitches, emotion-based opinion pieces, and possibly "false news" pieces that are part of the simple Google search.
§ Experiment: Try searching "motorcycle diaries" and compare to the results in Multi-Search or Books & More above.