Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

HIST 4990 U.S. Environment-Dr. Drake (Special Collections): Topic Leads in UGA Special Collections

This guide provides resources for the Spring 2022 sections of the HIST 4990 Senior Seminars focused on the Georgia Coast taught by Dr. Drake and Dr. Berry

UGA Special Collections Search Gateway

Visit: https://www.libs.uga.edu/scl/research/collections 
to access all the search engines for Special Collections. 

 

Searching for Archival Materials beyond UGA

To search fro archival materials at other places beyond just UGA, visit ARCHIVE GRID 
(After you search, be sure to look at the summary view tab to see the most helpful information for your search results)

To access digitized archival sources from around the United State, visit the Digital Public Library of America 

Topic Leads

Environmental History Topic Leads 

Use the topics listed below as search terms to query the Russell, Hargrett and Brown Media Archives databases.

Topic Lead: Agriculture

AGRICULTURE
shrimping
fishing
fisheries
crabbing
crabs
naval stores (turpentine)
timber industries (paper, wood products)
agribusiness
paper mills
pulp mills
 

 

Topic Lead: Land

Land
wilderness preservation
marchland protection
parks
public lands
Okefenokee Swamp
Cumberland Island
Jekyll Island
Sapelo Island
Savannah
Wetlands conservation
salt water marsh conservation
 

Topic Lead: Insects/Pests/Pesticides

INSECTS
Pests
Fire ants
Boll Weevil
mosquito control

Beneficial Insects
Beekeeping
policy
appropriations
politics
honey

Pesticides
DDT use
DDT ban

 

Topic Lead Public: Health

PUBLIC HEALTH 
sanitary commissions
Yellow Fever
malaria
mosquitoes
clean water
clean air
toxic sites
Superfund sites
Environmental Protection Agency
 

 

Topic Lead: Air

Air 
Clean Air mandates
value of fresh air
Smog
Emission testing for cars
carbon emissions
Cap and Trade
Climate change
Global Warming
 

 

Topic Lead: Environmental Management/Stewardship

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT/STEWARDSHIP
Government agencies
US Soil Conservation Corps
US Environmental protection Agency
US Department of the Interiors
GA Department of Natural Resources
Georgia Agricultural Commissioners
Phil Campbell
Tommy Irvin
United States Department of Agriculture
GA Commissioner Economic Development
Federal Emergency Management Agency  (FEMA)
Georgia Emergency Management Agency  (GEMA)

Advocacy/Activism
Georgia River Keepers
Coastal Georgia Environment Oral History Project
Reid Harris
Gene Odum
Fred Marland

 

Topic Lead: Environment as Resource

ENVIRONMENT AS RESOURCE
Water
water control
tourism
development
gentrification
zoning
salinization
water conservation
sea level rise
Drought
Flooding
ports
beach erosion
beach renourishment
dredging
channels
wetlands
marshes

 

Topic Lead: Water

drinking water

contamination

super fund sites

Wetlands

marshes

beach erosion/sea level rise

acid rain

stream pollution

water flow

drought

 

Topic Lead: Milestones/Key Events

Environmental Milestones or key events
Rachel Carson Silent Spring 1962
Earth Day 1970
Climate Change conferences and Conventions (Kyoto, Geneva)
Savannah Nuclear Plant opens
Hurricanes