Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
View all Hours
All Library Hours
Search Borrow & Request Research & Teaching Support Services Libraries & Collections Study Spaces & Tech About Ask Us! Chat & More ☰

GEOG 3290 Mountain Geographies Dr. Sarmiento (special collections): Primary Sources in UGA Special Collections (NOT digitized)

Overview

There are three special collections departments at the University of Georgia. All three have some materials available online through the Digital Library of Georgia, but a large percentage of their collections are ONLY AVAILABLE in physical format via the reading rooms on the 3rd floor of the Special Collections Libraries. Instructions for searching and requesting materials from these departments are outlined below. 

For guides and tutorials for searching  and requesting materials from the special collections libraries visit:
https://www.libs.uga.edu/scl/research/guides 

Searching and Requesting materials from the Hargrett Library and Russell Library

The Russell Library (an archives of politics and policymaking focused on Georgia from 1900-present) and the Hargrett Library (a special collections library with diverse holdings related to Georgia generally and specifically related to the history of the University of Georgia) both have a common  search gateway of collection finding aids. This means you can search across both libraries for materials. You can also limit your search to each library by setting the repository parameters up in your initial search.

Begin your search using the UGA Special Collections Finding Aid Gateway 

For instructions on requesting materials to view in the reading room, please visit How to Request Material 

 

Accessing Relevant Oral History Interviews from the Russell Library

The Russell Library has a large and active oral history program that includes content related to mountain politics, culture, and policy from politicians, activists and every people.  

Use the Russell Library Oral History Search Gateway to find materials related to topic of your interest. 

Accessing relevant books and maps from the Hargrett Library

In addition to holding lots of manuscripts materials (unpublished materials like letters, diaries, reports, photographs, and artifacts), the Hargrett Library has a large collections of books and maps  that may be useful to your research.

Accessing relevant materials from the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collections

To streamline your research process for this course, we have selected several video clips from the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection and the Russell Library for you to explore in relation to the mountain geographies of the Appalachian region. 

You can also search for materials in these databases on your own. Because of the amount of time that transferring materials for use takes, be sure to limit your searches in these databases for materials that have already been digitized. 

  • To search for materials in the Peabody Awards Database, use this search gateway (be sure to click the option to the limit results to titles available for online viewing.  
  • To search for materials in the Newsfilm Collections Database, use this search gateway (be sure to click the option to the limit results to digitized clip attached.

 

Accessing Relevant Audiovisual Materials from Russell Library

Listen to sound recordings related to the Georgia Mountain Protection legislation proposed in 1987-1988 from the Zell Miller Papers.