Books in the GIL Find catalog are tagged with standardized keywords called the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Relevant general search terms include:
Any of these can be searched along with a country, geographic region, or time period.
Browsing is also an excellent way to serendipitously happen upon a good book. Most books on book history and technology are on the second floor of the Main Library between call numbers Z4 - Z276; books on reading and the cultural history of print begin around Z1001. Don't miss the "Folio" Z section closer to the windows -- it has oversized books that often feature photos and images.
Specific topics in manuscript and book history will be shelved with that subject area: Chaucer with English literature, Bible histories with religion, illuminated manuscripts with art, etc.
Database Search Tips
GIL-Find: GIL-Find is the UGA Libraries' catalog for locating books, ebooks, films, and music in the Main Library, Science Library, Special Collections, and other campus libraries except Law.
Google Books and HathiTrust: Although not traditional library catalogs, Google Books and HathiTrust digitize book collections in a number of major university libraries. Both are useful in mining the contents of books on library shelves. Some of the books are out of copyright and may be read online. Others are still within copyright and can only be viewed in snippets, but you can still search for keywords within them then find the actual book searching GIL-Find.
Scholarly (Academic) Sources
Multi-Search is a combined search of around 130 GALILEO databases with interdisciplinary coverage of articles and books. It also includes non-scholarly sources like newspapers, so use the filters to limit to academic journals, books, and ebooks. Searching a more focused database such as the ones below can be simpler since they are limited to works from a specific area of study.
Specialized Sources: Provide in-depth research in specific fields or types of publications. An asterisk indicates a database included in Multi-Search.
MLA International Bibliography* (literary and language studies)
America: History & Life* (North American history)
Historical Abstracts* (History beyond North America)
Primary Sources: Scanned images of publications including books, sermons, pamphlets, and periodicals from rare book collections worldwide.
ArtSTOR: High-resolution images of artwork, including illuminated manuscripts, from museums.