Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Few Databases To Search
We have over 400 databases, which is a bragging point for us, but can be intimidating if you're not working here! How do you even find where to start?
To help you get started, follow these tips:
- Libraries Homepage--www.libs.uga.edu
- Scroll to the right to find Research by Subject & click
- For your class you may want Education and Medicine
- When you find an article in the results list you may have access to the full-text., by clicking on the "full-text" link. If you see this icon----click on it to see IF we have access to the article. This takes you back to our catalog and looks it up for you!
Here are some databases that might be of use to you:
- Academic Search Complete This is the perfect starting place! You can search in multiple databases at once, and get scholarly materials with a click of a button. Okay, a mouse....Use the "choose databases" option and select from the list. Most entries will also have the full-text included. Research doesn't get much easier!
- From this database (and most others which offer more than one database) there is an entire menu to search and you can search all the databases AT ONCE:
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database premier academic research and teaching tool for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media.
- Education Database Access to over 900 leading education publications.
Databases in the EBSCO "family" (ERIC and PsycInfo are part of EBSCO) can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search. Use the drop-down menu to change WHERE to look!
- Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
- Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
- Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
- Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
- Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
- Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
- Use the blue button to see what kind of access we have for that article.
- If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan. They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.
- You can select the dates you are interested in when you see your results. That option is on the left-hand side.
- If you get too many results here are some ways to narrow the results:
- Limit the dates, ex. 2012 to 2021
- Limit your results to scholarly/peer reviewed articles. You'll find that most of your assignments will require this kind of article.
- Take a look at the results info on the left of the results screen. There is a list of how many hits each database had. This is a good way to get to know WHERE to search. There's sort of a score card