Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journalism Low Residency Graduate Program Library Research Resources: Home

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website

GALILEO Databases

Ancestry Library Edition 

Collection of databases, records, and advice on genealogical research. Temporarily available off campus due to COVID-19 crisis; normally available on campus only. 

The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a strong Civil War collection. All materials may be searched at once (using a basic or advanced search screen), or various databases and indexes may be searched individually.

DataAxle

A business and residential information database.

Factiva 

The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials.

Policy Map

Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. PolicyMap has more than 37,000 continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more. Their GIS data is available for geographies across the U.S. often at neighborhood scale geographies such as Census tracts and block groups.

Mergent Intellect

Global company information and U.S. consumer and industry data

Social Explorer

Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts. Users must create and log in with a personal account.

Statista

A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more.  A statistics portal that gathers data on more than 80,000 topics from a wide variety of sources. Includes market research, consumer and industry reports, and more. The Global Consumer Survey includes data sets for different countries, topics, and target groups.

Westlaw Campus Research: Law

Westlaw Campus Research is a comprehensive collection of primary legal resources including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials, as well as international materials including the European Union. Westlaw Campus Research also provides access to thousands of analytical resources including American Jurisprudence, American Law Reports, and more than 800 law reviews and journals. This subscription does not include the Business or News portions of Westlaw Campus. 

Athens-Clarke County Public Library Resources

LibGuides of Note