Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Better Searching (Or At Least FASTER searching....)
Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.
- Create an account within the database to save your results and also to be able to send them to a citation manager. You need only create one account for all the EBSCO databases and one for all the ProQuest databases.
- Use quotation marks to keep your phrases as phrases: "autism spectrum"
- Use the asterisk * to expand your search. Type the root of your word~teach~ and add the asterisk~teach* to retrieve teach, teacher, teachers, teaching
- Keep your synonyms in the same box and join by or. These would be terms that are interchangeable in your search. You'll get more hits this way.
- Don't type complete sentences but use just the main concepts.
- Narrow your results to "peer reviewed" to get scholarly materials.
- Use the blue "find it @ UGA" button to see what kinds of access we have for that article. If it's not available electronically, scroll down to find the link "We may own this item in print" and select the GIL Classic link to if we own this item.
- If we don't have it in print nor electronically, call on Interlibrary Loan. They will track down the articles (and books) that we don't have. For free. Articles will come to you as a link in your email to a pdf of the document. Always check to be certain that we don't have print access before submitting your request.