Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MARK 4000: Marketing Research for Business Decisions (Dyachenko): Home

Dr. Tatiana Dyachenko, Fall 2021

Search Strategy Builder

The University of Arizona Library's Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and past the results into most databases' search boxes.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website

Databases to Start With

IBISWorld

IBISWorld can be a supplemental resource for data on market characteristics of the U.S. industries covered.  It consists of in-depth surveys on over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Covers industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook.

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.  To take advantage of all features of Mintel you must create a profile using your UGA email address.  To create a profile click on Welcome University of Georgia within Mintel.

Statista

Statista is a large database of statistics on many topics including consumer markets, market sectors, brands, industries, and much more for the U.S. and international.  Data source(s) are provided with each chart.  

PrivCo

Key financial data of U.S.private companies. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database.

Additional Resources

General Business Information

ABI/Inform

ABI/INFORM Complete includes all articles, working papers, and other content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.

Business Collection 

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.

Economics & Demographics

Social Explorer

This database includes the American Community Survey (ACS) from the Census Bureau which provides annually updated demographic and socio-economic data about the U.S.  Offers mapping as well as tabulations. (Alternate resource: data.census.gov)

PolicyMap

Data and mapping application that provides access to U.S. demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education, and more.

Companies

Data Axle

Data Axle (formerly called Reference USA) provides directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. There is also a database of U.S. Consumers.  The custom search tab provides multiple ways to retrieve a list of potential competitors including business type, size, and geography.  Includes radius searching.

News & Research

Factiva

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and international newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

Warning: Use of Factiva is restricted to purposes of research and education only. Other uses and excessive downloading are strictly prohibited.

Business Magazines & Journals at the UGA Libraries

AdWeek (2004-)

Barron's (1988-)

Bloomberg BusinessWeek (print edition Businessweek, Dec.1996-)

BusinessWeek Online (2001-)

Consumer Reports (1991- )

The Economist (1992-)

Entrepreneur (2003-)

Fast Company (2000- )

Forbes Magazine (1990-)

Fortune Magazine (1992-)

Harvard Business Review (1922-)

Inc. (1990-)

Investors Business Daily (2008-)

Kiplinger's Personal Finance (2000- )

Technology Review (MIT) (1987- )

Wired (2008-)

WWD (Women’s Wear Daily) (2004- )

Chat with a Librarian

Related Guides

Business Databases at the UGA Libraries

This website presents an overview of the UGA Libraries' collection of 50+ business and economics research databases