Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MARK 4000: Marketing Research for Business Decisions (Chen): Home

Dr. Hua Chen, Fall 2021

Search Strategy Builder

The University of Arizona Library's Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and past the results into most databases' search boxes.

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sheila Devaney
she/her/hers
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library

Online Office Hours
By appointment:
sdevaney@uga.edu
706-542-8708
Website

Business Magazines & Journals at the UGA Libraries

Databases to Start With

ABI/Inform

ABI/INFORM Complete includes all articles, working papers, and other content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry.

Business Collection 

Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Users will understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily.

PrivCo

Key financial data of U.S.private companies. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database.

Additional Resources

Consumers, Products, and Brands

Mintel Reports

Mintel Reports provides in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually.  To take advantage of all features of Mintel you must create a profile using your UGA email address.  To create a profile click on Welcome University of Georgia within Mintel.

Statista

Statista is a large database of statistics on many topics including consumer markets, market sectors, brands, industries, and much more for the U.S. and international.  Data source(s) are provided with each chart.  

MRI Simmons Insights 

Interactive access to product buying behavior, lifestyle, and media habits of thousands of U.S. adult consumers, 18 years of age and over. Crosstabs offers the capability to define a base population and cross-tabulate demographic characteristics and lifestyle statements with brands, products, and media habits. Brand Catalyst allows quick display of index and reach of the top consumer attitudes, brands, media, and demographics associated with any target survey item (e.g., among purchasers of brand x beverage, what are the top ranking other beverage brands?).  A brief tutorial of Brand Catalyst is at  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mP4BZ2rW6n8  

Data comes from MRI Simmons' biannual NHCS (National Hispanic Consumer Survey), a survey that asks additional questions of Hispanic respondents in the large national sample. The iteration of NHCS available to UGA is typically about 3 years old.  

Mergent Intellect 

U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data including PRIZM (Potential Rating Index for Zip Markets) reports from Nielsen (Claritas). First Research industry reports and key business ratios on hundreds of industries. NOTE: When you enter the First Research industry reports module within Mergent Intellect you will be required to submit an email address.

Ad$pender 

Database of advertising expenditures in U.S. down to the product level across media categories from Kantar Media. Media categories include TV (sub-categories), Magazines (sub-categories including B-to-B), Newspapers (sub-categories), Radio (sub-categories), Internet Display, Outdoor, and Hispanic (sub-categories). Coverage 2009-present (maximum 5 years allowed per request).  Access requires URL and login supplied by the library and is limited to UGA students and faculty.  Five simultaneous users. 

Economics & Demographics

IBISWorld

IBISWorld can be a supplemental resource for data on market characteristics of the U.S. industries covered.  It consists of in-depth surveys on over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Covers industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook.

Social Explorer

This database includes the American Community Survey (ACS) from the Census Bureau which provides annually updated demographic and socio-economic data about the U.S.  Offers mapping as well as tabulations. (Alternate resource: data.census.gov)

PolicyMap

Data and mapping application that provides access to U.S. demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education, and more.

Companies

Data Axle

Data Axle (formerly called Reference USA) provides directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. There is also a database of U.S. Consumers.  The custom search tab provides multiple ways to retrieve a list of potential competitors including business type, size, and geography.  Includes radius searching.

News & Research

Factiva

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and international newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

Warning: Use of Factiva is restricted to purposes of research and education only. Other uses and excessive downloading are strictly prohibited.

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics. Also covers industry trade and practitioner journals. Non-journal content includes SWOT reports, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and more. 

Methodology

Handbook of Marketing Scales

(Main Library Reference, 1st floor, call number: HF5415.3 .B323 2011).  Provides detailed summaries of hundreds of multi-item measures used in marketing and consumer behavior research.  For additional collections of marketing scales with less detailed summaries, see the Marketing Scales Handbook volumes listed at http://guides.libs.uga.edu/content.php?pid=563083&sid=5592837.

Chat with a Librarian

Related Guides

Business Databases at the UGA Libraries

This website presents an overview of the UGA Libraries' collection of 50+ business and economics research databases.