Skip to Main Content
Main Library & McBay Science Library
Display of Opening hours
Hours
Main Library 7:30am – 2:00am
Circulation Desk 7:30am – 2:00am
Digital Humanities Lab 7:30am – 2:00am
Interlibrary Loan Office 8:00am – 5:00pm
Reference Desk 9:00am – 10:00pm
All Library Hours

HIST 3362: 20th Century Europe (Soper): Databases for Your Project

Where to Find Articles?

 

For this assignment, these two databases will work well. 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It's a good starting point.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.

When searching in the EBSCO "family" of databases, you can search multiple databases at once.

  • Click the "choose databases" link above the search box
  • Select the databases you would like to search and click "OK

You may also want to consider some outside sources, such as the national libraries of different countries. This will also depend on your language skills. Two excellent such libraries: Library of Congress and The British Library

My colleagues have created an entire page for additional sources, including primary sources. It's worth a look, if not for now, for future classes.

When You Need to Get Articles for Other Research

You will come to a point in your research when you'll need more than just Academic Source Complete and Historical Abstracts. So, how do you find these?

We have a few hundred databases in every subject area at UGA. Branch out! Nothing bad will happen to you.

Stuck? Ask Us 

You can ask a question here

 

 

How to Search for Articles

When searching in almost any database, keep it simple!

  • Don't type a complete sentence
  • Focus on the KEYWORDS in your topic
  • Use the asterisk (*) to expand your search terms. For example: type decolon* to find decolonization, decolonisation, decolonized, decolonizing, etc.
    • The asterisk will search for the original string of letters and then will apply any endings or variations that are found.
  • Use OR to join synonyms or terms you wish to use interchangeably. Keep the terms in the same box: decolon* or anticolon*, for example.
  • Use the default "select a field" to get more hits.
    • You can search particular fields in the records in the database by selecting "title" or "author" or "subject"
  • You can limit your results to "scholarly" if needed by clicking on the button to the left of your results list.
  • Avoid limiting to "full-text" as you'll miss out on materials we've paid extra to supply to you!

Citation Management

It's never too late nor too early to start using citation management software! It's free to you and will help you stay organized, making writing much easier. These software packages will also format your paper in any of hundreds of formatting styles, including APA 7th, MLA and Turabian.

Use ONE of these options to store citations in which you have an interest. Clip PDFs of articles to the record in your own database and annotate the records as well. Preparing for your comps will that much easier when you have everything in one place--citation, full text & notes! Visit our page on these software packages.

If you decide to use RefWorks, please contact me to make an appointment for a training session. For Endnote, please use the training request form.

What To Do With Your Results

Some materials will be available in full-text, directly from the database. However, if you see a blue button -Check SFX for a menu of link options for this item. A new window will open.-, click it! This will take you to a page that will tell you whether or not your material is available online.

On the resulting page, don't give up if the top line says "Not available online". Scroll down further to see if the article is available in print. 

Avoid limiting to "full-text" as you'll miss out on materials we've paid extra to supply to you!

If it's STILL not available, you can use Interlibrary Loan .  The people in that office will track down who DOES own your article or book and they will get it for you. For free.

Keeping Your Results

Most databases will offer the option of storing your results. Take it! The EBSCO and ProQuest "families" of databases allow you to create a single login for all of their databases. Other databases offer the same thing. When you create an account you store what you've discovered. Without it, when you login or otherwise leave, so do your results.