In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases, ERIC, Education Research Complete & APA PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest).
We are also fortunate to have access to Education Database (ProQuest), and two education-orien[ened newspapers, Education Week (daily) and The Chronicle of Higher Education. You should consider making reading Education Week part of your daily routine. The most recent month of the Chronicle is not available online.
The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) is the American Psychiatric Association's major guide to classifying and diagnosing mental disorders. The online database includes the full text of the current Manual as well as online assessment measures, DSM-V Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-V Clinical Cases.
Films on Demand--Over 7,000 films for classroom use. They have a lot on psychiatry & psychology. You should also check in GIL for films. Search by title or keyword. We also have access to PsycTherapy--Streaming video for clinical training on general mental health topics
Psychology Collection Articles supporting research in all fields of psychology
Psychiatry Online is a collection of online information published by the American Psychiatric Association. It includes the DSM-5.
PTSDpubs (formerly titled PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress)This link opens in a new window --Worldwide literature on mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
There are other resources available in the listing of databases under "P". in GALILEO Explore these options are well.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses- Discover theses and dissertations from the US, the UK, Canada and a few other countries. The full-text is usually available and if it is not, DO NOT BUY A COPY! This is a job for Interlibrary Loan. This Library department will track down what you need and get it for you FOR FREE! UGA dissertations completed after 2019 are now only available in this database.
Some general databases to consider for a variety of topics include Academic Research Complete, Web of Science is another good one for multiple subjects.
Web of Science. Find articles by author, topic or journal title in Web of Science. One of the best features of Web of Science is the display of the number of times a particular article has been cited, by whom and in what journal. This is an excellent way to discover seminal papers in your field. Search for authors by lastname firstinitial asterisk (ex. : Bergmann C*) without any additional punctutation. Use the asterisk in place of the middle name. Web of Science is all scholarly materials. When saving articles make sure to click on "add to marked list" or the article is not saved. You should see a white checkmark in blue box.
PsycTherapy--Streaming video for clinical training on general mental health topics
For topics relating to student athletes, consider the following: Medline (with full-text), ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health, CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health), SPORTDiscus, Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine.. Also, please consider the Kinesiology options from the drop-down menu in the Articles & Databases>>by subject tab.
For research on transgender students, the medically-oriented databases listed above will also apply as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide, Social Services Abstracts Family Studies Abstracts, LGBT Life, START HERE Sociological Abstracts and/or Sociological Collection, SocIndex, Violence & Abuse Abstracts, & Women's Studies International
You'll find quality sources for student veterans in the Education & Psychology databases mentioned above as well as in PTSDpubs. (Mentioned above) This database focuses largely on the mental & physical health issues some veterans may have and is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans' Affairs.
Looking for policy discussions? Consider Political Science Complete, Public Administration Abstracts, & Public Affairs Index. SREB is the Southern Regional Education Board database and may also have some policy recommendations.