Choosing the most effective terms for your search is the key to success. Remember that you may be working in a multilingual environment, which will influence which terms you choose and how you combine them. (See the box below for more about constructing your search.)
Once you have decided on a topic, start making a list of the words you think will best describe the subject. As you search in the resources available to you, you will find materials in multiple languages. There might not be a direct correspondence between the words in English and those in other languages. For example, if I were searching for materials about tourism in Senegal, I would probably list the following:
There is not always a direct correspondence between the words in English and in French yet you will find relevant materials in both of those languages, among others.
For more advice about terms, see the "Keywords vs. Subject" tab of the Database Search Tips guide.
Now that you have a considered your topic and chosen some terms, it is time to choose and search in the appropriate database. See the "Library Resources" tab in this guide for suggestions. Keep in mind that some databases are indexing databases (they point to the source you need, often using the "Find It @ UGA" button, for example, HAPI), while others are full-text databases (for example, JSTOR).
Generally, the indexing databases will connect you to a full-text source if it is available to UGA. Full-text databases may have time-sensitive obstacles such as access limitations. Some sources in JSTOR, for example, are not available as full-text for 1-5 years after publication. However, the indexing databases will still provide the citation, and the "Find It @ UGA" button will often connect to a different database that provides online access. I highly recommend searching in the indexing databases before searching in strictly full-text databases.
Expanding searches, or how to get MORE:
For more advice about expanding searches , see the "Boolean operators" tab (the section on "Using OR") and the "Truncation" of the Database Search Tips guide.
Contracting searches, or how to get LESS:
For more advice about contracting searches , see the "Boolean operators" tab (the section on "Using AND") of the Database Search Tips guide.