Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FREN 3020: Culture and Communication (Haddad): Library Resources (FREN 3020 - Haddad)

Recommended Databases (FREN 3020 - Haddad)

For newspapers, see the Guide for Newspapers at the UGA Libraries, especially the tabs for "International Newspapers" and "GALILEO Databases." Among the most useful of the GALILEO Databases for this class are:

  • Global Newsstream (Not in Multisearch) - searching tips:
    • On the front page, click on "Publications" (above the search box)
    • On the result screen, scroll down until you see "Language" on the right side of the screen. Click on the drop-down box and choose "French." This should give you publications from various French-speaking countries.
  • International Newsstream (Not in Multisearch) - searching tips:
    • This seems to be a subset of Global Newsstream. Use the same instructions as above.

Another helpful GALILEO Database:

  • Europa World (Not in Multisearch) - Lists basic information about countries world-wide (See Algeria, for example)

Other resources (FREN 3020 - Haddad)

Other portals and digital archives that might be helpful include:

  • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) - You will find annual reports and other publications by rolling over "Our Impact"
  • The World Bank - Annual reports are found under "Who We Are." To find country specific data, roll over "What We Do" then look under "Knowledge" for "Data."

UGA Libraries Homepage

The UGA Libraries' homepage is your connection to most of the resources you will use in your research. From here you can search GIL-Find (the UGA Library catalog), GIL Express (also know as "GIL-Find Universal Catalog" - the University System of Georgia Library catalogs), the GALILEO databases (Georgia's statewide virtual library), and other information resources.You can start an InterLibrary Loan request, get quick online help through "Chat with a Librarian", and lots more. Beware that some of these services are NOT on the front of the page! Use the roll-over functions along the top of the page.

Multi-Search - This is the central box located in the middle at the top of the homepage. It is a program that can help you search both GIL and several databases at the same time, giving you lots of sources with just one search.

§ CAUTION: Multi-Search might also lead you astray! Multi-Search does not search in all databases that are available to you - especially for Latin American and Iberian topics. The information most helpful you to might be elsewhere in GALILEO (Georgia's statewide virtual library) - see above for recommended databases.

Books & More -This searches in just the GIL catalog, without the distraction of links to articles in databases.

§ Experiment: Try searching "motorcycle diaries" in both Multi-Search and Books & More to compare the results.

E-Journals by Title - This only searches electronic journals! To find printed journals that UGA owns, look in GIL-Find.

  • We subscribe to journals in print: we get a paper copy of the journal. The most recent issues will be shelved alphabetically in current periodicals areas in each library; the bound volumes will be shelved by call numbers in the stacks. § CAUTION: they may be shelved off campus at the Repository - make sure you check the Locations.
  • We subscribe to journals in electronic form: sometimes this means that we have no paper copies. Many of these do not appear in GIL, but you still have access to the contents.

Google Scholar - This is a good way to find scholarly information on the web without the distraction of entertainment pieces, sales pitches, emotion-based opinion pieces, and possibly "false news" pieces that are part of the simple Google search.

§ Experiment: Try searching "motorcycle diaries"  and compare to the results in Multi-Search or Books & More above.

Your Librarian

Laura Shedenhelm's picture
Laura Shedenhelm
Contact:
Office Hours are by appointment - email me at:
shedenhe@uga.edu

Main Library, 6th floor, Collection Development suite