Here is a list of SOME of the databases to which we have access and which might be of use to you. To access these databases through the Libraries' Homepage, click on Databases A-Z. You can also use the Research by Subject tab. You can then search by database name or just click through. Most databases will allow you to create an account. Do it. It's worth it. You can save your searches, your results, and more.
You can search multiple databases at once within a "family"--EBSCO or ProQuest. Type in one search and find results from several sources at once.
Education Database (ProQuest), is a nice complement to ERIC@EBSCO & Education Research Complete. Education Database is part of the ProQuest collection and can be searched with other ProQuest databases, including the ProQuest version of ERIC.
Also in the ProQuest family is Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Factiva This is the only place to find The Wall Street Journal. Other U.S. and foreign newspapers, magazines and trade journals. Company financials. Warning: Use of the files is restricted to purposes of research and education only. Other uses and excessive downloading are strictly prohibited. To search in other newspapers, please see our Newspapers Guide. .
Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislators who recognized the link between education and economic vitality. SREB's Annual Meeting and Legislative Advisory Council meetings bring together legislators, agency heads and other policy-makers.
Annual Report of State Government Finances. Data from the Census Bureau. State Government Finances provides a comprehensive summary of annual survey findings for state governments. The tables and data files present a treasure trove of information.
Statistical Abstract of the United States. The Statistical Abstract of the United States Online compiles statistical tables from a wide array of federal, state, and local agencies; nonprofit and industry associations; and research organizations.
EBSCO Databases--When using EBSCO databases, you can search multiple databases simultaneously. To do this, click on the "Choose Databases" above the search screen when you're in an EBSCO database. You can also search multiple databases in the ProQuest databases.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, includes citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.
Education Research Complete. Covers professional and scholarly journals in all areas of education from early childhood to adult education.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.
Political Science Complete provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
PsycINFO (which now has an alias as APA PsycINFO)contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. PsycArticles can be searched at the same time as PsycInfo.
Social Work Abstracts is a bibliographic citation database contains references on homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and related topics.
SocIndex contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.
Sociological Collection is a database with more than 475 full-text titles.
Urban Studies Abstracts covers essential areas related to urban studies.
Web of Science This database is all scholarly material and does lean heavily toward the sciences. Search for articles on your topic and see who is citing whom, with links to the materials cited in the original article and the citing articles.
Databases in the EBSCO "family" can be searched simultaneously by clicking on the "choose databases" link above the search box. Select the additional databases you need and click "ok" to search more than one database at a time. When you do this, leave the search option "Select a field" as it is, rather than trying to identify multiple subjects.
ProQuest also has a "family" and the same tips apply to searching there.
Some search tips: The "select a field" option looks at the title, abstract, subject headings & full-text if available. It's a broad kind of search.