Skip to main content

MARK 4000: Marketing Research for Business Decisions (Dyachenko): Home

Fall 2020, Dr. Tatiana Dyachenko

Additional LibGuides

Marketing Research Databases

First check out these for resources for market research reports:

IBISWorld (U.S. Industry Reports) contains in-depth surveys of 723 industries. Reports are usually 30 to 50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months. Also, these are three good tutorials to help you read IBIS reports.

Mintel Reports provide in-depth market research reports on a wide range of U.S. and European consumer products, including food/drink, clothing, beauty, electronics, automobiles, etc. Reports are typically 100 pages long and cover consumer demographics, market size, market shares, trends/forecasts, segmentation, and distribution channels, among other topics. About 120 reports are added annually. New users must register at the login page using their UGA email address.

Then use these resources to gather more information:

Factiva combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

PrivCo provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private companies, U.S. and international. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database. A demo video which provides an overview of the database is here. I also recommend subscribing to The Daily Stack, their daily morning email of business news and analysis compiled by their editorial team. It's very well done. I read it every morning. To subscribe to that you can, sign up here

Mergent Intellect: Includes global company information on around 280,000,000 public and private businesses including corporate family tree data and executive contacts. U.S. consumer demographic and lifestyle data including Prizm reports from Nielsen. First Research industry reports and key business ratios on hundreds of industries. NOTE: When you enter the First Research industry reports module within Mergent Intellect you will be required to submit an email address. U.S. demographic data from the Census Bureau. Mergent Intellect also pulls financial and other corporate data for U.S. publicly traded companies from the database,

Reference USA provides directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private. The custom search tab provides multiple ways to retrieve a list of potential competitors including business type, size, and geography.  Includes radius searching.

Sports Business Research Network combines market research from the largest single research supplier to the industry, the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from 14 magazines and newsletters published by Miller Freeman, the world's largest sporting goods trade publisher, and newsletters provided by leading independent industry experts. In mid-1999, SBRnet added buyTRACK, an exclusive tracking study of sporting goods purchasing habits on the Internet, to its already comprehensive database. buyTRACK data are provided by Harris Interactive, a leading market research firm specializing in Internet-based data collection and analysis.

Addtional Marketing Research Databases

MRI University Internet Reporter

Data on product buying behavior and media habits of 27,000 adults.Data on buying behavior and media habits of U.S. adult consumers. 

Restricted: Creation of a Personal Profile with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database. Use Firefox or Internet Explorer for full functionality.  

NOTE: When you have logged all the way into MRI click on the Mediamark Reporter tab to access the data. 

Simmons Study of Media and Markets Consumer survey data on product buying behavior and media habits of 33,000 adults, 18 years of age and over. Offers the capability to crosstab demographic characteristics with types of brands and products.

Social Explorer is a premier U.S. demographics website. Its online tools help users visually analyze and understand the demography of the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. The primary product is a web-based application that creates fast, intuitive, and visually appealing maps and reports. Its software gives anyone with an Internet connection access to census data that was previously the domain of social science experts.

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
912-268-0539 (For Fall 2020 please use my Google Voice number))

Chat with a Librarian