Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WFED 9630e: Critique of Educational Literature in Workforce Education (Mativo): Some Databases to Search

Where to Look

 

Please note--If you created accounts in any EBSCO databases, you will need to update them. Follow these directions from the Libraries Homepage--EBSCOHost Account and Folder Changes  This will update all your databases in EBSCO, so you needn't do each one separately.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Go to the Libraries Homepage  and then to the right. You can start with the Subject Guides to get an overview on your subject area. You can also search alphabetically. It's probably easier to start with the subject guides.

In addition to looking at the major Education & Psychology databases,  ERIC, Education Research Complete & APA PsycInfo, consider your other options. Remember that you can search multiple databases simultaneously within database "families" (EBSCO & ProQuest) by selecting "choose databases" and then clicking OK.

Academic Search Complete A good general purpose database which searches in both scholarly and the popular press

Business Source Complete This is useful because who does hiring? 

Educators' Reference Complete, a GALE publication offers full-text journals, magazines, images and more. Suitable for high school through professionals. 

Education Research Complete Combine this with the other education databases which are are in the E section of the list. 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses- Discover theses and dissertations from the US, the UK, Canada and a few other countries. The full-text is usually available and if it is not, DO NOT BUY A COPY! This is job for Interlibrary Loan.  This Library department will track down what you need and get it for you FOR FREE!

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection More from psychology. Combine it with other EBSCO databases in this field.

Don't forget the ProQuest "family" of databases (In the "Ps" in the database list). They also support multiple searches in the same "family". 

This link opens in a new window

 

There are also other resources available in the listing of databases under "P". Explore these options are well:

Web of Science only indexes scholarly materials, so you won't have to limit your results to get them. One of the cool features of this database is that you can sort your results by "number of times cited". This is great way to discover articles that are heavily used in your field. 

  • Find articles by author, topic or journal title
  • Search for author by last name [no comma] first initial [no period] asterisk.  Your search will look like this bergmann c* The asterisk finds variations etc of middle names.
  • As with other databases, use the asterisk to expand your search and combine terms you are willing to interchange by keeping them in the same search box, joining them with OR--stutter* OR fluency
  • On the results page, look to the left and under "Document Types" you may find "Review". A review article is a giant lit review. If it doesn't appear at first, use the "more options" button to see if there are any. This is good way to get a good overview of the lit. You can sort the results alphabetically. 
  • You can sort your results by times cited so you can easily see which articles are the most used. 

Saving your articles in Web of Science

  • Web of Science requires TWO steps to save your articles. First select the title(s) you want to save. THEN go to the tab that says "Add to Marked List". If you don't do this second step it may lead to crying and swearing...You need to see a blue box with a white checkmark or it's not really saved.