Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UGA Archway Partnership: GALILEO Databases & Additional Resources

A LibGuide for UGA Archway Partnership Projects

GALILEO Databases & Additional Resources

D & B Hoover's: Extensive profiles on major public and private companies worldwide.

IBISWorld: U.S. Industry Reports contains in-depth surveys over 1000 industries including more than 700 NAICS industries and hundreds of specialized industry categories. Reports are usually 30-50 pages long. Reports cover industry segments, market characteristics, industry conditions, profiles of key companies, and industry outlook. There are numerous statistical tables, which can be exported to Excel. Reports are updated every four months.

PolicyMap: Data and mapping application that provides access to continuously updated data related to demographics, socio-economics, mortgages and home sales, health statistics, jobs and employment, education and more.

PrivCo: Provides key financial data, number of employees, company contacts, whether family-owned or private equity backed, M&A history, and competitor lists for private U.S. companies. Amount of data available varies by company. Registration with a valid UGA email address is required to use the database

Reference USA: Directory information on over 14 million US businesses, public and private.

Social Explorer: Provides easy access to United States demographic information from 1790 to the present.

Other Resources

Chambers of Commerce websites

  • May contain demographic and economic statistical data for your area
  • May include a list of local chamber members.  Members usually know their community's business climate quite well.
  • Search Google or other search engine for the pertinent chamber of commerce.  For example: “chamber of commerce” athens georgia

RMA Annual Statement Studies (Risk Management Association)

  • A print source providing 23 averaged financial statement items and 19 ratios for businesses in more than 700 NAICS industries.  Breakdown by asset and sales sizes.
  • Useful for measuring the performance of your company against the whole industry or for projecting the performance of a new business.  
  • Location: University of Georgia Main Library Reference Room has latest edition under the call number HF5681 .B2 R63.  Also available in many other libraries both academic and public.
  • Another good source of performance data is:  Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios (Dun & Bradstreet) University of Georgia Main Library Reference HF5681 .R25 I531 - I571

Your Librarian

Sheila Devaney's picture
Sheila Devaney
Contact:
Research & Instruction Department
Main Library
University of Georgia
sdevaney@uga.edu
912-268-0539 (For Fall 2020 please use my Google Voice number))